INXS ‘Live Baby Live’ gets 4K treatment

Career-defining 1991 Wembley Stadium concert film is restored, remixed, remastered and presented in UHD

Eagle Vision has announced it will release Live Baby Live, the seminal live show by INXS from 1991, on 4K Ultra High Definition Blu-ray on June 26th, the same day its previously announced Blu-ray, DVD and digital download counterparts are available. The release follows the restored film’s hugely successful debut theatrical run in late 2019, playing on over a thousand screens from Sydney to Stockholm and London to Los Angeles.

The home entertainment release features the film presented in widescreen for the first time, and in over 20 times greater resolution on 4K UHD Blu-ray than the original DVD release. The full Wembley soundtrack is available in the Blu-ray and DVD bundles, plus “Shining Star,” the studio track recorded the day after the show in London which then became the lead single from the original live compilation album in 1991. The special edition of the soundtrack — Live Baby Live Wembley 1991 — was issued independently on November 22, 2019 on 2 CD and 3 LP sets.

This masterclass in showmanship and musicianship has been meticulously restored over a 12 month period from the original 35mm negative to 4K Ultra HD, and during the process a previously thought lost performance of the X album track “Lately” was discovered and reinstated into the film, much to the fans delight.

To accompany the astonishing visual upgrade, the audio is now presented in Dolby Atmos and DTS-HD Master Audio (Blu-ray only), DTS 5.1 Surround and Dolby 5.1 Surround – all created by Giles Martin, the band’s Executive Music Director, and Sam Okell at Abbey Road Studios.

The physical packages feature new 4K-sourced photography from the show, new notes from the band and an essay by broadcaster and uber INXS fan Jamie East, who was in the crowd that day.

1. Guns in the Sky
2. New Sensation
3. I Send a Message
4. The Stairs
5. Know the Difference
6. Disappear
7. By My Side
8. Hear That Sound
9. Lately*
10. The Loved One
11. Wild Life
12. Mystify
13. Bitter Tears
14. Suicide Blonde
15. What You Need
16. Kick
17. Need You Tonight
18. Mediate
19. Never Tear Us Apart
20. Who Pays the Price
21. Devil Inside
22. Shining Star

* Previously unseen/unheard performance

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.