Iron Maiden sets ‘The Book Of Souls’ double album for September 4th

Iron Maiden’s eagerly awaited new studio album The Book Of Souls will be released globally on September 4th through Parlophone Records (Sanctuary Copyrights/BMG in the U.S.A.). It was recorded in Paris with their longstanding producer Kevin “Caveman” Shirley in late 2014, with the finishing touches added earlier this year. However, the band decided to delay its release so that vocalist Bruce Dickinson, who was recently given the all-clear from a tumor, would have time to recuperate sufficiently to join in the preparations for the album’s launch.

The 11 track album runs 92 minutes and spans two discs. It’s the band’s first ever double studio album and its 16th overall. Bassist and founding member Steve Harris has contributed songwriting to seven of the tracks with one solo composition. Bruce Dickinson also contributes two solo songwriting tracks, the first since the band’s 1984 album Powerslave.

“We approached this album in a different way to how we’ve recorded previously,” Harris comments. “A lot of the songs were actually written while we were there in the studio and we rehearsed and recorded them straight away while they were still fresh, and I think that immediacy really shows in the songs, they have almost a live feel to them, I think. I’m very proud of The Book Of Souls, we all are, and we can’t wait for our fans to hear it, and especially to take it out on the road next year!”

“We’re really excited about The Book Of Souls and had a fantastic time creating it,” Dickson adds. “We started working on the album in late summer 2014 and recorded it at Guillame Tell Studios in Paris, where we’d done the Brave New World album back in 2000 so the studio holds special memories for all of us. We were delighted to discover the same magical vibe is still alive and very much kicking there! So we immediately felt at home and the ideas just started flowing. By the time we’d finished we all agreed that each track was such an integral part of the whole body of work that if it needed to be a double album, then double its going to be!”

The Book Of Souls is available as a 2 CD deluxe hardbound book limited edition, 2 CD standard edition, triple heavyweight black vinyl, high res audio (24-bit Mastered for ITunes and non-Mastered for iTunes) and standard res audio (16 bit/ 44.1 kHz).

Deluxe 2 CD | 3 LP

Disc 1:
1. If Eternity Should Fail (Dickinson) 8:28
2. Speed Of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
3. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
4. The Red And The Black (Harris) 13:33
5. When The River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
6. The Book Of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27

Disc 2:
1. Death Or Glory (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
2. Shadows Of The Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
3. Tears Of A Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
4. The Man Of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
5. Empire Of The Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01

The band had to delay touring plans due to Dickinson’s health, but promises to hit the road in support of the album early next year.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.