J Balvin, Bad Bunny surprise fans with midnight release of collaborative album

Oasis dropped at midnight ET on all DSPs

Two of the top streaming music artists in the world, J Balvin and Bad Bunny delighted fans at midnight with the surprise global release of their collaborative album Oasis. This new eight-song release (also containing features from Mr. Eazi and Marciano Cantero of Enanitos Verdes) arrives with a simultaneous video release for the first single “Que Pretendes.”

As their distinctive Latin Urban sound has surged to a still-growing worldwide embrace, a unique factor has been the strong support and continued creative collaborations, as opposed to musical rivalry, that have developed among some of the genre’s leading artists. This is especially apparent in the bond of near brotherhood that has formed between these two artists from opposite Caribbean shorelines. Between Colombia’s “Global Ambassador of Reggaeton” and Puerto Rico’s “Leader of the Latin Trap explosion,” J Balvin and Bad Bunny have been at the forefront of propelling Latin music to unprecedented success. Now, close friends Jose and Benito have joined forces to “make waves with a fresh Caribbean flow” on a landmark album taking fans to a summer music Oasis.

Oasis is a transcendental and refreshing album; it is a rescue, a relief,” Bad Bunny says. “An Oasis helps you to supply yourself with what you’re missing and to find what you lack spiritually; this is what this album represents. We have been working on it for a long time, and finally, we found its moment. Working with J Balvin has undoubtedly been an unparalleled experience, I have always admired and respected him a lot and we have had an excellent vibe throughout this whole process.”

“I am proud to say I LOVE Bad Bunny; we always seem to be on the same wavelength, as he likes what I like,” J Balvin states. “He is also all about celebrating our culture, while remaining super humble. Working with Benito again has been a musical joy. I am blessed to not only call him my brother, but now a partner on an album that has even become a personal Oasis. I’ve been traveling all over the world the last few months, and anytime it started to feel overwhelming, I’ve been able to listen to the tracks we created, and instantly return ‘Home’ to our own musical paradise. I’m so glad the time has arrived where fans can now share those same new vibes with us.”

  1. Mojaita
  2. Yo Le Llego
  3. Cuidao Por Ahi
  4. Que Pretendes
  5. La Cancion
  6. Un Peso (featuring Marciano Cantero de Enanitos Verdes)
  7. Odio
  8. Como Un Bebe (featuring Mr. Eazi)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.