Jane’s Addiction announces ‘Sterling Spoon Anniversary’ box set

Jane’s Addiction will celebrate a “Sterling Spoon Anniversary” this year to commemorate the release of Ritual de lo Habitual and the first Lollapalooza. The revelry began in July when the band launched a highly anticipated tour that includes Ritual de lo Habitual played in its entirety each night.

The party will continue in October when the band releases Sterling Spoon, an epic, six-LP collection that includes Nothing’s Shocking and Ritual de lo Habitual, along with the vinyl debuts for the 1990 concert recording Live From The Palladium and a selection of rarities, demos, and live takes from the 1997 compilation Kettle Whistle.

The band, which has been directly involved with the set’s creative direction, selected LA-based Ernesto Yerena to produce its cover art. Limited to just 5,000 pieces worldwide, Sterling Spoon will be available on October 21st via Rhino Records.

The collection focuses mainly on the Los Angeles -based quartet’s first incarnation —Perry Ferrell (vocals), Dave Navarro (guitar), Eric Avery (bass), and Stephen Perkins (drums) — and includes the band’s landmark studio albums: Nothing’s Shocking (1988) and Ritual de lo Habitual (1990). It was those recordings that made the group underground heroes with songs like: “Jane Says,” “Ocean Size,” “Mountain Song,” and the #1 Modern Rock hits “Been Caught Stealing” and “Stop!”

Jane’s Addiction made great albums, but it was the band’s live shows that cemented its legend. As a testament to it stage prowess, Sterling Spoon includes the group’s entire performance at the Hollywood Palladium from December 1990, a concert recording that was originally released in 2008 as part of the Rhino’s boxed set A Cabinet of Curiosities. Among the highlights are thunderous performances of such classics as: “Three Days,” “Stop!” and “Summertime Rolls.”

6 LP

[one_half]Nothing’s Shocking

Side One:
1. “Up The Beach”
2. “Ocean Size”
3. “Had A Dad”
4. “Ted, Just Admit It…”
5. “Standing In The Shower…Thinking”

Side Two:
1. “Summertime Rolls”
2. “Mountain Song”
3. “Idiots Rule”
4. “Jane Says”
5. “Thank You Boys”[/one_half]

[one_half_last]Ritual De Lo Habitual

Side One:
1. “Stop”
2. “No One’s Leaving”
3. “Ain’t No Right”

Side Two:
1. “Obvious”
2. “Been Caught Stealing”

Side Three:
1. “Three Days”
2. “Then She Did”

Side Four:
1. “Of Course”
2. “Classic Girl”[/one_half_last]

[one_half]Kettle Whistle Extractions

Side One:
1. “Kettle Whistle”
2. “Ocean Size” (Demo)
3. “My Cat’s Name Is Maceo” (Demo)

Side Two:
1. “Had A Dad” (Outtake)
2. “So What!”
3. “Mountain Song” (Demo)
4. “Been Caught Stealing” (Outtake)
5. “City” (Soul Kiss 88)[/one_half]

[one_half_last]Live At The Hollywood Palladium 1990

Side One:
1. Drum Intro
2. “Up The Beach”
3. “Whores”
4. “1%”
5. “No One’s Leaving”

Side Two:
1. “Ain’t No Right”
2. “Then She Did…”
3. “Had A Dad”

Side Three:
1. “Been Caught Stealing”
2. “Three Days”

Side Four:
1. “Mountain Song”
2. “Stop!”
3. “Summertime Rolls”
4. “Ocean Size”[/one_half_last]

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com