Jennifer Hudson releases ‘Ain’t No Way’ from ‘Respect’ soundtrack

Album arrives Aug 13th

As the world awaits her highly anticipated portrayal of Aretha Franklin in the upcoming film Respect, Academy Award-winning actress and GRAMMY Award-winning recording artist Jennifer Hudson releases “Ain’t No Way.” The song marks one of 17 Franklin classics featured on the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack to Respect, due August 13th via Epic Records.

he set the stage for the soundtrack with the new original “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” — co-written with 4x GRAMMY Award winner, Kennedy Center Honoree, and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductee Carole King (marking their first collaboration) and Jamie Hartman [Lewis Capaldi, Christina Aguilera]. GRAMMY Award-winning Black Eyed Peas co-founder and mega-producer produced the track. She’s also released a version of “(You Make Me Feel Like A) Natural Woman” and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.”

Hudson was notably handpicked by Franklin to portray her in the film from MGM, which opens in theaters nationwide on August 13th.

From MGM, Respect follows the rise of Aretha Franklin’s career from a child singing in her father’s church’s choir to her international superstardom, Respect is the remarkable true story of Franklin’s journey to find her voice.


  1. There Is A Fountain Filled With Blood
  2. Ac-cent-tchu-ate The Positive
  3. Nature Boy
  4. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
  5. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
  6. Dr. Feelgood
  7. Respect
  8. Sweet Sweet Baby (Since You’ve Been Gone)
  9. Ain’t No Way
  10. (You Make Me Feel Like A) Natural Woman
  11. Chain of Fools
  12. Think
  13. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
  14. Spanish Harlem
  15. I Say A Little Prayer
  16. Precious Memories
  17. Amazing Grace
  18. Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11288