Jesse McCartney announces ‘In Technicolor’ for July 22nd

Jesse McCartney has announced the release date of July 22nd for his upcoming studio album In Technicolor, which is available for pre-order at Amazon, through his own Eight0Eight Records, in partnership with INgrooves Music Group and their artist services division INresidence.

“Superbad,” the first single on the album, begins its Top 40 radio campaign today. McCartney will be announcing summer tour dates in the near future. In Technicolor follows the release of Jesse’s EP In Technicolor Part I, and included the single “Back Together” which he premiered late last year on The Today Show.

Describing his inspiration for the album, Jesse says, “The music was influenced quite a bit by Michael [Jackson], Prince, and a lot of different dance music from the 70s & 80s, plus a little R&B and pop – that’s what I have always gravitated towards. I had a pivotal moment when I was writing with Hot Chelle Rae for their album. We wrote a song that – somewhat accidentally – nailed a sound I was searching for, for myself. It was retro; it was contemporary. I envisioned real horns, real instruments. The song “Back Together,” was sonically, the template for this album.”


  1. In Technicolor Part I
  2. Back Together
  3. Young Love
  4. Superbad
  5. All About Us
  6. Checkmate
  7. Punch Drunk Recreation
  8. Goodie Bag
  9. In Technicolor Part II
  10. Tie the Knot
  11. The Other Guy

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.