Joe Bonamassa, Beth Hart announce ‘Black Coffee’

Blues rockers Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart have teamed up for their third studio album together, Black Coffee, available January 26th. It’s their first project together since Seesaw was released in 2013 and topped the Billboard Blues Album chart. The ten song project will be released on CD and 2 LP with a bonus 11th track on vinyl only. Their debut was 2011’s Don’t Explain.

Black Coffee features re-imagined songs by Edgar Winter, Etta, James, Ike & Tina Turner/Steve Marriot, Ella Fitzgerald, Lil’ Green, LaVern Baker, Howlin’ Wolf, Lucinda Williams and Waldeck. Each one having the majestic heart and soul that Bonamassa and Hart bleed on each record. Producer extraordinaire Kevin “The Caveman” Shirley is back at the helm.

“We’re trying not to dig into a playbook that’s been done many times which is the old soul classics. We try and find a different spin on it, originally it was about trying to find some songs that people didn’t know at all and bring them back to people’s attention,” Shirley says of the project.

Recorded in five days at Studio at the Palms in Las Vegas in August 2016, the album includes musicians Anton Fig (drums/percussion), Ron Dziubla (saxophone), Lee Thornburg (horn arrangements/trumpet/trombone), Reese Wynans (keyboards), Michael Rhodes (bass), Rob McNelley (rhythm guitar), Paulie Cerra (saxophone), and Mahalia Barnes, Jade Macrae and Juanita Tippins (backing vocals).



1. Give it Everything You Got
2. Damn Your Eyes
3. Black Coffee
4. Lullaby Of The Leaves
5. Why Don’t You Do Right
6. Saved
7. Sitting On Top Of the World
8. Joy
9. Soul On Fire
10. Addicted
11. Come Rain Or Come Shine (Vinyl Only Bonus Track)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.