Joe Satriani announces Squares ‘Best of the Early 80s Demos’

Early Demos of the World-Renowned Guitarist’s First Band

Joe Satriani has had a long and acclaimed solo career, his awards and accolades from fans and the industry alike are unending. Yet, through all of that, Satriani has often mentioned in interviews the musical trio that launched the next step in his musical career, his first band, the Squares, formed in Berkeley, CA in the late 70’s. Until now, no recordings of the inception of the legendary Satriani sound was available. Now that is all about to change! On April 5th, Squares – Best of the Early 80’s Demos will be released on Satriani’s own, Strange Beautiful Music imprint digitally. First single, “I Love How You Love Me” makes its premiere on Billboard.

“We were part Van Halen and part Everly Brothers,” Satriani explains. “A mix of heavy metal, rock ‘n’ roll, punk and new wave. We were hard to pin down and categorize, which is most likely why we never ‘made it’!” However, Satriani never lost his love for that time or that music.

What remains today are the original, early ’80’s demos recorded and mixed by the bands then live sound engineer John Cuniberti. They have restored the original recordings, brought them into the digital world, and with loving hands and ears, John has remixed the best of what the band created in studio. According to Satriani, “They sound better than ever. John was careful to preserve the band’s original intent with regards to song arrangements, sound and vibe, and in some cases, extremely creative mix ideas.”

Squares – Best of the Early 80’s Demos is produced and mixed by John Cuniberti, with Satriani’s Executive Producer. The album features lyrics by Neil Sheehan, Satriani on (of course) guitar, Andy Milton on lead vocals & bass, and Jeff Campitelli on drums, all three lending vocals to the mix.

1. Give It Up
2. Everybody’s Girl
3. B-Side Girl
4. I Need a Lot of Love
5. Can’t Take It Anymore
6. So Used Up
7. You Can Light the Way
8. Tonight
9. Never Let It Get You Down
10. Follow That Heart
11. I Love How You Love Me

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: