John Legend announces eighth studio album ‘Legend’

Double album features a slew of guest stars

John Legend has announced his highly anticipated eighth studio album, Legend, will be released on September 9th via Republic Records. Executive produced by Legend and prolific producer-writer Ryan Tedder, the forthcoming project is a vibrant double album suffused with an unapologetic spirit of sensuality and joy, informed by the full vulnerability of pain, praise and healing.

The album marks the first time the musician has officially embraced the iconic meaning of his name throughout his illustrious career. “Until this point, I’ve never used an aspect of my name as the title of an album,” Legend explains. “I had to earn that, to live up to it by delivering in the performance and the music. And this is me saying, I’m proud of who I am, I’m confident in the work I’ve done, and I’m just going to declare it.”

In conjunction with the announcement, Legend released the latest single from the project titled “All She Wanna Do” featuring Grammy Award-nominated rapper Saweetie. Immediately addictive and utterly uplifting, the track was co-written and produced by Ryan Tedder, Monsters and Strangerz, Zach Sketon, Andrew DeRoberts, and Halatrax.

Other guests on the project include Rick Ross, Muni Long, JID, Saweetie, Jazmine Sullivan, Jada Kingdom, Rapsody, Ledisi, Jhene Aiko, Ty Dolla $ign and more.

Legend previously shared the first two singles from the album including “Honey,” an R&B track featuring Muni Long, and “Dope,” a featuring rapper JID.

In addition, Legend kicked off the second leg of his critically acclaimed residency, Love in Las Vegas. The residency will run through October 29th at Zappos Theater at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino.

CD 1:

1. Rounds ft. Rick Ross
2. Waterslide
3. Dope ft JID
4. Strawberry Blush
5. Guy Like Me
6. All She Wanna Do
7. Splash ft Jhene Aiko & Ty Dolla $ign
8. You
9. Fate ft Amber Mark
10. Love ft Jazmine Sullivan
11. One Last Dance
12. All She Wanna Do ft. Saweetie

CD 2:

1. Memories
2. Nervous
3. Wonder Woman
4. Honey ft. Muni Long
5. I Want You to Know
6. Speak in Tongues ft Jada Kingdom
7. The Other Ones ft Rapsody
8. Stardust
9. Pieces
10. Good ft Ledisi
11. I Don’t Love U Like I Used To
12. Home

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 14218