Set is part of Mitchell’s Archive Series and 50th anniversary celebration

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of Joni Mitchell’s masterpiece Blue, Joni Mitchell Archives is releasing several new collections that offer different perspectives on one of the greatest albums ever made and the inspired period of creativity that made it possible.

The first, Blue 50 (Demos & Outtakes), debuts five unreleased songs from the making of Blue that will appear on the upcoming Archives collection. The striking cover of the Blue 50 EP features the original Blue color treatment with a previously unseen alternate photo of Mitchell by Tim Considine from the same show as the original. The EP is available now.

The second, Joni Mitchell Archives Vol. 2: The Reprise Years (1968-1971), will explore the period leading up to Blue through nearly six hours of unreleased home, studio, and live recordings from her unmined vault. Coming October 29th, the release will be available as a 5 CD collection and digitally as well as on a limited edition 10 LP on 180-gram vinyl, with only 4,000 pressed, exclusively at

The tracks on Archives Vol 2 have been sequenced chronologically to follow Mitchell in real time through one of the most creative periods of her career. The collection uncovers several unreleased Mitchell originals, including “Jesus” recorded in 1969 at her friend Jane Lurie’s New York apartment in Chelsea, which also served as the setting for the song “Chelsea Morning.”

Other highlights include Mitchell’s performance at Le Hibou Coffee House in Ottawa on March 19, 1968 that was recorded by Jimi Hendrix and a concert at the Paris Theatre in London on October 29, 1970 that was broadcast on the BBC. The latter includes several songs destined to appear on Blue the following year: “Carey,” “River” and “My Old Man.” In addition, singer-songwriter James Taylor joined Mitchell to perform with her during the second half of the show.

The set also features a book with archival photos and a Cameron Crowe conversation with Mitchell featuring her newly recorded thoughts and reflections on the period.

Also on October 29th, Rhino will make Joni Mitchell: Live at Carnegie Hall, 1969 available separately on 3 LP. The limited edition collection will be available on 180-gram black vinyl with 15,000 pressed and white vinyl of 3,000 pressed, exclusively available at Rhino’s website. The set was mastered by Bernie Grundman and includes an essay penned by Graham Nash.

Joni Mitchell Archives Vol. 2: The Reprise Years (1968-1971) is the second installment in the extensive archival series that began last year with The Reprise Albums (1968-1971). Each one promises a deep dive into unreleased studio and live recordings from different eras of Mitchell’s storied career. Mitchell continues to be intimately involved in producing these collections, lending her vision and personal touch to every element of the projects. Each release in the archive series arrives in a similar manner, with a boxed set focused on studio albums from a specific era, followed by an official “Archives” release looking at unreleased audio from the same period.

CD 1:

Joni’s home (late 1967/early 1968)

1. Midnight Cowboy – Version one
2. The Dawntreader – Demo with vocal overdub
3. Song To A Seagull
4. Midnight Cowboy – Version two

Jane Lurie’s Apartment, Chelsea, Manhattan, New York City, NY (late 1967/early 1968)

5. The Way It Is
6. Turn Around – Incomplete

Home Demo, Joni’s home (late 1967/early 1968)

7. I Had A King – Demo with piano overdub
8. Roses Blue – Demo with peacock harp overdub
9. The Fiddle And The Drum – Piano demo

Song To A Seagull Session, Sunset Sound, Hollywood, CA (January 24, 1968)

10. Jeremy
11. Conversation
12. Both Sides Now
13. The Gift Of The Magi

Jane Lurie’s Apartment, Chelsea, Manhattan, New York City, NY (early 1968)

14. It’s Easy
15. Another Melody

Live at Canterbury House, Ann Arbor, MI (March 10, 1968)

16. Introduction
17. Jeremy
18. Songs To Aging Children Come

CD 2:

Le Hibou Coffee House, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, Recorded by Jimi Hendrix (March 19, 1968)

First Set

1. Night In The City
2. Come To The Sunshine
3. Intro to “The Pirate Of Penance
4. The Pirate Of Penance
5. Conversation
6. The Way It Is
7. Intro to “The Dawntreader
8. The Dawntreader

Second Set

9. Marcie
10. Intro to Nathan La Franeer
11. Nathan La Franeer
12. Intro to Dr. Junk
13. Dr. Junk
14. Intro to Michael From Mountains
15. Michael From Mountains
16. Go Tell The Drummer Man
17. Intro to I Don’t Know Where I Stand
18. I Don’t Know Where I Stand
19. Intro to Sisotowbell Lane
20. Sisotowbell Lane
21. Intro to Ladies Of The Canyon
22. Ladies Of The Canyon

Studio Session, Western Recorders, Hollywood, CA (May 31, 1968)

23. Come To The Sunshine

Jane Lurie’s Apartment, Chelsea, Manhattan, New York City, NY (summer 1968)

24. My Second Album
25. Lambert, Hendricks & Ross
26. The Pirate Of Penance

Top Gear BBC Radio Broadcast, London, England (recorded September 23, 1968)

27. Intro to Chelsea Morning
28. Chelsea Morning – with the John Cameron Group
29. Intro to The Gallery
30. The Gallery
31. Intro to Night In The City
32. Night In The City – with the John Cameron Group

CD 3:

Live at Carnegie Hall, New York City, NY (February 1, 1969)

First Set

1. Chelsea Morning
2. A Valentine for Joni
3. Cactus Tree
4. Night In The City
5. I Had A King
6. Blue Boy
7. My American Skirt
8. The Fiddle And The Drum
9. Spoony’s Wonderful Adventure
10. That Song About The Midway
11. Both Sides Now

Second Set

12. Marcie
13. Nathan La Franeer
14. Intro to The Gallery
15. The Gallery
16. Hunter
17. Morning Morgantown
18. Intro to Get Together
19. Get Together
20. Intro to The Circle Game/Little Green
21. The Circle Game/Little Green


22. Michael From Mountains

CD 4:

Live at Carnegie Hall, New York City, NY (February 1, 1969)

1. Intro to Urge For Going
2. Urge For Going

Clouds Sessions, A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA (spring 1969)

3. Conversation
4. Blue Boy
5. The Priest

Jane Lurie’s Apartment, Chelsea, Manhattan, New York City, NY (mid 1969)

6. Jesus
7. Playing piano and vocalizing

The Dick Cavett Show ABC TV Broadcast, New York City, NY (Recorded August 18, 1969)

8. Chelsea Morning
9. Willy
10. For Free
11. Interview
12. The Fiddle And The Drum

Ladies Of The Canyon Demo Session, A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA (late 1969)

13. Woodstock

Live at Centennial Auditorium, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada (November 1, 1969)

14. As I Lie Thinking In My Backyard On August 2nd
15. Roses Blue
16. Rainy Night House

Ladies Of The Canyon Sessions, A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA (late 1969)

17. Ladies Of The Canyon – with cellos
18. Blue Boy – with recorder coda

In Concert BBC TV Broadcast, (recorded September 3, 1970)

19. All I Want

Blue Demo Sessions, A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA (September 1970)

20. A Case Of You
21. California

CD 5:

In Concert BBC Radio Broadcast, Paris Theatre, London England (recorded October 29, 1970)

1. Introduction
2. That Song About The Midway
3. Intro to The Gallery
4. The Gallery
5. Hunter
6. Intro to River
7. River
8. My Old Man
9. The Priest
10. This is a mountain dulcimer
11. Carey
12. A Case Of You – with James Taylor
13. Intro to Californi” – with James Taylor
14. California – with James Taylor
15. Intro to For Free – with James Taylor
16. For Free – with James Taylor
17. Intro to The Circle Game – with James Taylor
18. The Circle Game – with James Taylor
19. Intro to You Can Close Your Eyes – with James Taylor
20. You Can Close Your Eyes – with James Taylor
21. Both Sides Now

Blue Sessions, A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA (late 1970/early 1971)

24. Hunter
25. River – with French horns
26. Urge For Going – with string trio