The Lumineers return with ‘Brightside’

Band herald fourth studio album with energetic first single and title track

The Lumineers have announced the release of their eagerly awaited new album, Brightside, arriving Friday, January 14, 2022 via Dualtone in the US & Canada and Decca Records for the rest of the world. The 2x GRAMMY Award-nominated band’s fourth studio album is heralded by the premiere of the vibrant first single and title track, available now at all DSPs and streaming services. An official visualizer is streaming now at YouTube. The Lumineers will further celebrate the announcement with the debut live performance of the track tonight (Mon, Sept 20th) on ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Live!

“The song ‘Brightside’ was recorded in a single day,” says The Lumineers singer-guitarist and co-founder Wesley Schultz. “It’s like a 15-year-old’s fever dream, an American love story in all its glory and heartbreak. The last couple left, on the run from something and all alone…”

Produced by longtime collaborator Simone Felice and produced, mixed, and engineered by David Baron over two sessions in winter and spring 2021 at Baron’s Sun Mountain Studios in bucolic Boiceville, NY, Brightside marks The Lumineers’ first new music in more than two years as well as the band’s most joyous and spontaneous piece of work thus far. The nine-song collection sees The Lumineers’ co-founders/co-songwriters Wesley Schultz and Jeremiah Fraites performing virtually all of the eclectic, effervescent instrumentation, with Baron on a wide variety of keyboards and backing vocals and more by Simone Felice, touring members Byron Isaacs and Lauren Jacobson, famed backing singer Cindy Mizelle (Bruce Springsteen, Dave Matthews Band), The Felice Brothers’ James Felice, and acclaimed singer-songwriter Diana DeMuth.

The Lumineers have quickly risen to the ranks of the world’s most beloved bands of any genre. Fueled in part by the breakthrough hit single, “Ho Hey,” 2012’s self-titled debut proved an immediate sensation, rising to No. 2 on the SoundScan/Billboard 200 on its way to 3x RIAA platinum certification in the US and Canada and a prestigious pair of GRAMMY Award nominations including “Best New Artist.” Cleopatra followed in 2016, debuting at No. 1 on album charts in the US, Canada, and the United Kingdom on route to RIAA platinum in the US and 2x platinum certification in Canada. The album’s highlights include the smash single, “Ophelia,” which spent an astounding 13 weeks atop the Triple A radio chart and currently boasts over 610 million worldwide streams on Spotify alone. The Lumineers’ third album, the cinematic and inventive III, proved a critical and popular phenomenon upon its September 2019 release, highlighted by such singles as “Life In The City” and “Gloria,” both of which lit up multi-format radio outlets across the country, with “Gloria” topping the charts at Americana, adult alternative, and alternative, including six consecutive weeks at No. 1 on the latter chart.


  1. Brightside
  2. AM Radio
  3. Where We Are
  4. Birthday
  5. Big Shot
  6. Never Really Mine
  7. Rollercoaster
  8. Remington
  9. Reprise

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11255