Maren Morris releases ‘The Bones’, announces ‘Girl’

Maren Morris is releasing her sophomore effort, Girl, on March 8th – International Women’s Day. The 14 track album features the title track and “The Bones,” her most recent single. Fans who pre-order Girl, will receive “The Bones,” “Girl” and “Common” (feat. Brandi Carlile), which became available on February 8th. Upon releasing “The Bones,” Morris has unveiled the album’s track listing below.

Last month, “Girl” made history when it achieved the highest debut on the Country Streaming chart by a Female Artist in addition to having the highest weekly streams by a female country artist with 3.3 million streams after its release on January 17th.

To celebrate album’s release, Morris will take over the plaza at NBC’s Today for a special performance to commemorate the occasion. More details to come.

Last week, Morris was announced as a nominee for Female Artist of the Year at the 54th ACM Awards, which will broadcast live from MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on April 7th at 8 pm ET/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network. This nomination marks the third time Morris has received the Female Artist of the Year nomination since her debut in 2016.

Morris’ life from 2016 to 2019, at the very least, can be described as exciting. The excitement of a budding career, falling in love, becoming engaged and then married, all the highs and lows in and around every moment – for Girl that’s what Morris chose to write about. If the past three years of her life were contained inside a single room with four walls, floor, and ceiling, then Morris chose to utilize every square inch of that room to create Girl.

For Girl, Morris once again tapped Grammy Award-winning songwriter/producer busbee, who co-produced Morris’ 2016 debut, Hero, to co-produce 11 of the 14 songs on the album with her, while also adding Grammy Award-winning songwriter/producer Greg Kurstin to produce three of the 14 songs.


1. “GIRL”
Written by Maren Morris/Sarah Aarons/Greg Kurstin

2. “The Feels”
Written by Maren Morris/Jimmy Robbins/Laura Veltz

3. “All My Favorite People” (feat. Brothers Osborne)
Written by Maren Morris/Ryan Hurd/Mikey Reaves

4. “A Song for Everything”
Written by Maren Morris/Jimmy Robbins/Laura Veltz

5. “Common” (feat. Brandi Carlile)
Written by Maren Morris/Sarah Aarons/Greg Kurstin

6. “Flavor”
Written by Maren Morris/Jimmy Robbins/Laura Veltz

7. “Make Out With Me”
Written by Maren Morris/Julian Bunetta/John Ryan

8. “Gold Love”
Written by Maren Morris/busbee

9. “Great Ones”
Written by Maren Morris/Ryan Hurd/Mikey Reaves

10. “RSVP”
Written by Maren Morris/Natalie Hemby/Jon Randall/Mark Trussell

11. “To Hell & Back”
Written by Maren Morris/Jessie Jo Dillon/Laura Veltz

12. “The Bones”
Written by Maren Morris/Jimmy Robbins/Laura Veltz

13. “Good Woman”
Written by Maren Morris/Kathleen Edwards/Ian Fitchuk

14. “Shade”
Written by Maren Morris/Natalie Hemby/Tyler Johnson

Tracks 2-4, 6-11, 13-14 produced by busbee and Maren Morris
Tracks 1, 5, 12 produced by Greg Kurstin

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.