Mariah Carey releases Christmas single from ‘The Star’ soundtrack

Epic Records and Sony Pictures Animation have released Mariah Carey’s “The Star” as the lead single from The Star: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack which arrives in stores and online October 27th.

The digital pre-order unlocks an instant grat download of “The Star” in addition to the previously released “Life Is Good” by A Great Big World. Meanwhile, The Star opens in theaters worldwide on Friday November 17th.

Co-written by Marc Shaiman, the title track glows as an empowering, engaging, and emboldening anthem for dreamers everywhere. Carey’s voice soars to heavenly heights as she delivers the bright refrain “Follow that star.” With a dash of timeless Christmas spirit, it’s right at home in her catalog of holiday classics.

Be on the lookout for the music video’s debut very soon.

The soundtrack assembles new music from a bevy of powerhouse superstars befitting of the cast’s blockbuster pedigree. Kirk Franklin, Kelsea Ballerini, Zara Larsson, and more serve up new tracks recorded specifically for The Star. Each artist got into the spirit with show-stopping and standout performances.

In Sony Pictures Animation’s The Star, a small but brave donkey named Bo yearns for a life beyond his daily grind at the village mill. One day he finds the courage to break free, and finally goes on the adventure of his dreams. On his journey, he teams up with Ruth, a loveable sheep who has lost her flock and Dave, a dove with lofty aspirations. Along with three wisecracking camels and some eccentric stable animals, Bo and his new friends follow the Star and become unlikely heroes in the greatest story ever told – the first Christmas. The film stars the voices of Steven Yeun, Gina Rodriguez, Zachary Levi, Keegan-Michael Key, Kelly Clarkson, Anthony Anderson, Aidy Bryant, Ving Rhames, Gabriel Iglesias, Patricia Heaton, Kristin Chenoweth, Christopher Plummer, and Tracy Morgan and Tyler Perry and Oprah Winfrey. Directed by Timothy Reckart, the screenplay is by Carlos Kotkin, with a story by Simon Moore and Carlos Kotkin. The film is executive produced by DeVon Franklin, Brian Henson, and Lisa Henson, and produced by Jennifer Magee-Cook.


  1. Mariah Carey – The Star
  2. Kelsea Ballerini – Children Go Where I Send You
  3. Kirk Franklin – We Three Kings
  4. Fifth Harmony – Can You See
  5. A Great Big World – Life Is Good
  6. Zara Larsson – Mary, Did You Know
  7. Yolanda Adams – O Holy Night
  8. Saving Forever – What Christmas Means to Me
  9. Jessie James Decker – Breath of Heaven (Mary’s Song)
  10. Casting Crowns – His Eye Is on the Sparrow
  11. Jake Owen – What Child Is This?
  12. Pentatonix – Carol of the Bells*

*digital-only bonus track

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: