Mary Chapin Carpenter announces ‘The Things That We Are Made Of’

Mary Chapin Carpenter has announced that she will release The Things That We Are Made Of on May 6th on Lambent Light Records via Thirty Tigers. Produced by by 2016 Producer of the Year Grammy-nominee Dave Cobb (Jason Isbell, Chris Stapleton) and recorded in Nashville, TN, the album features 11 new songs. The digital version of the album includes two additional bonus tracks.

“Working with Dave felt great from the first day of our sessions,” Carpenter states of the album. “He is always willing to try something new, believes that ‘yes’ is the only answer, and surrounds himself with wonderfully talented and generous musicians; by the end of the project, I felt as if I was a part of a new family.”

Cobb adds, “I wanted to work with Mary Chapin because very few people can cut with words like she can. She’s an absolute poet and legend. I was so happy to collaborate on this album together.”

All pre-orders come with an instant download of “Something Tamed Something Wild.” The record marks Carpenter’s first vinyl release since her 1989 debut, State Of The Heart. Exclusive pre-order bundles, including exclusive new merchandise, signed records, and limited-run items, are available via Carpenter’s online store.

In support of the album, Carpenter has announced that she will return to the legendary Filene Center at Wolf Trap in Washington, DC on July 2nd for a special performance. Tickets go on sale Saturday, March 19th. Members of Carpenter’s free newsletter will get exclusive pre-sale information before the public on-sale.

Additional tour dates to be announced soon.


Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.