Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Merle Haggard announces ‘Okie From Muskogee’ 45th anniversary set

Country legend Merle Haggard is set to release a 45th anniversary edition of his live album Okie From Muskogee on March 25th as a 2 CD set that also includes the long out-of-print 1970 live album, The Fightin’ Side Of Me.

The Okie From Muskogee live album was recorded live in Muskogee, Oklahoma and was originally released in 1969 as an attack on the liberal hippies who represented American pop culture in the ’60s. The title song struck a chord in audiences across the country and shot to number one on the country charts shortly before the album was released. The album won an Academy of Country Music Award for Album of the Year in 1969, Top Male Vocalist, and Single of the Year for “Okie from Muskogee.”

In 1970, Haggard followed with yet another live album entitled The Fightin’ Side Of Me which also shot to number one. However, this album went out of print in 1974 and will be available to audiences on CD/digital download for the first time ever as part of this 2 CD set.

Included in the set are multiple song medleys, impersonations of country pioneers Johnny Cash and Buck Owens and several Haggard song introductions alongside some of his biggest hits including, “Mama Tried” and “Workin’ Man Blues.”

Haggard was one of the most important country artists to emerge in the 1960s, becoming one of the leading figures of the Bakersfield country sound along with Owens. Bakersfield country was a reaction against the slickly-produced, string orchestra-laden Nashville sound that started to become popular in the late 1950s. Haggard and The Strangers and Owens and The Buckaroos brought Bakersfield country to mainstream audiences, influencing popular country artists such as Brad Paisley, Dwight Yoakam and The Mavericks.

2 CD

CD 1: Okie From Muskogee

1. Introduction by Carlton Haney
2. Mama Tried
3. No Hard Times
4. Silver Wings
5. Merle Receives Key To Muskogee
6. Merle’s Introduction to Medley
7. Medley: Swinging Doors
8. Medley: I’m A Lonesome Fugitive
9. Medley: Sing Me Back Home
10. Medley: Branded Man
11. In The Arms Of Love
12. Workin’ Man Blues
13. Merle’s Introduction To ‘Hobo Bill’
14. Hobo Bill’s Last Ride
15. Billy Overcame His Size
16. If I Had Left It Up To You
17. White Line Fever
18. Blue Rock
19. Introduction To ‘Okie From Muskogee’
20. Okie From Muskogee

CD 2: Fightin’ Side Of Me

1. Opening Theme: Hammin’ It Up
2. I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am
3. Corrine Corrina
4. Every Fool Has A Rainbow
5. T.B. Blues
6. When Did Right Become So Wrong
7. Philadelphia Lawyer
8. Stealin’ Corn
9. Harold’s Super Service
10. Medley: Devil Woman
11. Medley: I’m Movin’ On
12. Medley: Folsom Prison Blues
13. Medley: Jackson
14. Medley: Orange Blossom Special
15. Medley: Love’s Gonna Live Here
16. Today I Started Loving You Again
17. Okie From Muskogee
18. The Fightin’ Side Of Me