Mika announces I Love Beirut benefit concert

Full lineup includes Salma Hayek, Danna Paola, Rufus Wainwright, Kylie, Louane, Etel Adnan, Fanny Ardant, and Laura Pausini

British-Lebanese singer Mika has announced I ❤️ Beirut benefit concert that will be livestreamed on YouTube across four time zones on Saturday, September 19th. All the money raised from ticket sales and donations to the GoFundMe campaign will be split between the Lebanese Red Cross and Save the Children, to support their continued relief work since the explosion in Beirut’s docks last month.

The full line-up has been revealed and includes global pop icon Kylie, Mexican singer and actress Danna Paola, Grammy-nominated singer/songwriter Rufus Wainwright, César Award-winning French singer and actress Louane, and a very special performance from Italian icon Laura Pausini.

Joining these musicians to speak at the event are Academy Award-nominated actress and film producer Salma Hayek, César Award-winning French actress Fanny Ardant, and acclaimed Lebanese-American poet, essayist, and visual artist Etel Adnan.

“Mika and I have been friends for a while, so when he asked me to be part of his I ❤️ Beirut project of course I said yes!” Kylie shares. “The situation in Lebanon is so sad, but I hope this event will raise lots of money to support the incredible work of Save the Children and The Lebanese Red Cross and their teams working on the ground in Beirut. I’m so happy to be part of it.”

The concert will be livestreamed across four time zones, starting at 8 pm BST/9 pm CEST on September 19th from Mika’s YouTube channel via private link. A second livestream for Europe and the Middle East airs at 9 pm CEST/8 pm BST/10 pm EEST with North, Central and South America starting at 9 pm EDT/6 pm PDT. The final stream will be for Australia, New Zealand and Asia on Sunday, September 20th at 8 pm AEST/10 pm NZST/7 pm JST and KST.

Tickets can be purchased via Ticketmaster.

The concert was announced by Beirut born singer Mika last month, in the wake of the explosion in his home city on August 4th. Following the tragedy, more than 200 people have died, thousands have been left injured and many are in urgent need of basic assistance, shelter, and medical care.

All donations raised from the concert will go directly to Lebanese Red Cross and Save the Children for their vital work they continue to carry out on the ground. A GoFundMe campaign has also been set up so that additional donations can be made.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.