Miles Davis ‘The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection’ set for May 13th

In advance of what would have been Miles Davis’ 90th birthday, Prestige Records, a division of Concord Bicycle Music, will celebrate this milestone with The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection — a lavish, 11-LP box set that commemorates the legendary trumpeter’s appearances as a young leader for Prestige Records during the 10-inch LP era, from 1951 to 1954. Street date is May 13th.

The Complete Prestige 10-Inch LP Collection presents all ten inch LPs on which Miles Davis appeared as a leader for Prestige Records, plus a bonus record featuring Davis as a guest artist with Lee Konitz, all remastered from the original analog master tapes and faithfully reproduced on 10-inch vinyl, including the original cover artwork and liner notes. Also in the box is a 16-page booklet featuring rare photographs and insightful new notes by GRAMMY Award-winning author Ashley Kahn, as well as a collectible print of a painting by Davis. The complete list of albums includes: Modern Jazz Trumpets (featuring Dizzy Gillespie, Kenny Dorham and Fats Navarro); The New Sounds; Blue Period; Miles Davis Plays the Compositions of Al Cohn; Miles Davis Quartet; Miles Davis All Star Sextet; Miles Davis Quintet; Miles Davis with Sonny Rollins; Miles Davis All Stars, Vol. 1; Miles Davis All Stars, Vol. 2 and, as a bonus, Lee Konitz’s The New Sounds, featuring Davis as a guest artist. These records offer an incredible lineup of talent, including performances by Art Blakey, Al Cohn, Roy Haynes, Percy Heath, Milt Jackson, Charles Mingus, Thelonious Monk, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Horace Silver and Zoot Sims, among many other legends of the genre.

Nick Phillips, the producer of the box set, remarks, “This collection presents an exciting and important period in Miles Davis’ development as an artist; one in which he is clearly distinguishing himself from the other bop stylists of the era and is rapidly developing the uniquely lyrical and powerful voice that remains so instantly recognizable and influential to this day.”

In addition to the vinyl box set, Concord is in the process of making Davis’ entire Prestige catalog of 12-inch albums available as 24-bit digital editions. Each title has been meticulously restored from the original analog tapes by GRAMMY Award-winning mastering engineer Paul Blakemore. The campaign, which has been ongoing since February 2016, includes such albums as Dig, Walkin’, Cookin’, Relaxin’, Workin’, and Steamin’, among others. The rollout is expected to be completed by May 2016.

Track Listing:

LP #1: Modern Jazz Trumpets (PRLP 113)

Fats Navarro (A1 – A3) / Dizzy Gillespie (A4, B4) / Miles Davis (B1 – B3) / Kenny Dorham (B5)

Side A

1. Stop (Don Lanphere) – 4:02

2. Go (Don Lanphere) – 3:26

3. Wailing Wall (Fats Navarro) – 3:40

4. Thinking Of You (Bert Kalmar-Harry Ruby) – 5:04

Side B

1. Morpheus (John Lewis) – 2:21

2. Whispering (Schonberger-Coburn-Rose) – 3:03

3. Down (Miles Davis) – 2:51

4. Nice Work If You Can Get It (George Gershwin-Ira Gershwin) – 2:48

5. Maxology (Max Roach) – 5:39


LP #2: Miles Davis: The New Sounds (PRLP 124)

Side A

1. Conception (George Shearing) – 4:01

2. My Old Flame (Johnston-Coslow) – 6:34

Side B            

1. Dig (Miles Davis) – 7:30

2. It’s Only A Paper Moon (Rose-Harburg-Arlen) – 5:26


LP #3: Miles Davis:  Blue Period (PRLP 140)

Side A

1. Bluing (Miles Davis) – 9:55

Side B

1. Blue Room (Take 1) (Hart-Rodgers) – 2:50

2. Out Of The Blue (Miles Davis) – 6:16


LP #4: Miles Davis Plays the Compositions of Al Cohn (PRLP 154)

Side A

1. Tasty Pudding (Al Cohn) – 3:20

2. Floppy (Al Cohn) – 5:58

Side B

1. Willie The Wailer (Al Cohn) – 4:25

2. For Adults Only (Al Cohn) –  5:32


LP #5: Miles Davis Quartet (PRLP 161)

Side A

1. When Lights Are Low (Carter-Williams) – 3:25

2. Tune Up (Miles Davis) – 3:52

3. Miles Ahead (Miles Davis) – 4:25

4. Smooch (Miles Davis-Charles Mingus) – 3:02

Side B

1. Four (Miles Davis) – 4:00

2. Old Devil Moon (Harburg-Lane) – 3:22

3. Blue Haze (Miles Davis) – 6:05


LP #6: Miles Davis All Star Sextet (PRLP 182)

Side A

1. Blue ‘N’ Boogie (Gillespie-Paparelli) – 8:14

Side B

1. Walkin’ (Richard Carpenter) – 13:22


LP #7: Miles Davis Quintet (PRLP 185)

Side A

1. Solar (Miles Davis) – 4:40

2. You Don’t Know What Love Is (Raye-DePaul) – 4:19

Side B

1. I’ll Remember April (Raye-DePaul-Johnston) – 7:50


LP #8: Miles Davis with Sonny Rollins (PRLP 187)

Side A

1. Airegin (Sonny Rollins) – 4:57

2. Oleo (Sonny Rollins) – 5:11

Side B

1. But Not For Me (Gershwin-Gershwin) – 5:42

2. Doxy (Sonny Rollins) – 4:51


LP #9: Miles Davis All Stars, Vol. 1 (PRLP 196)

Side A

1. Bags’ Groove (Milt Jackson) – 11:11

Side B

1. Swing Spring (Miles Davis) – 10:41


LP #10: Miles Davis All Stars, Vol. 2 (PRLP 200)

Side A

1. Bemsha Swing (Monk-Best) – 9:28

Side B

1. The Man I Love (Gershwin-Gershwin) – 7:55


LP #11 (Bonus Disc): Lee Konitz featuring Miles Davis: The New Sounds (PRLP 116)

Side A

1. Odjenar (Russell) – 2:51

2. Hibeck (Konitz) – 3:05

3. Yesterdays (Harbach-Kern) – 2:28

Side B

1. Ezz-thetic (Russell) – 2:55

2. Indian Summer (Dubin-Herbert) – 2:32

3. Duet for Saxophone and Guitar (Konitz) – 2:37


Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11244