Mötley Crüe announces ‘The Dirt’ soundtrack

Mötley Crüe is set to release The Dirt Soundtrack on March 22nd via Motley Records, the same day the film premieres on Netflix. The 18 track soundtrack will feature four new songs, including the newly released “The Dirt (Est. 1981)” featuring Machine Gun Kelly, along with Mötley staples that meaningfully underscore significant moments that shape the film. The Dirt Soundtrack will be available on CD and 2 LP.

The band reunited with Dr. Feelgood producer Bob Rock last year to record the four new tunes. “During the filming of our movie we got excited and inspired to write new music,” states bassist Nikki Sixx. “Getting back in the studio with Bob Rock just fueled the creative fires for us. To me, the music sounds like classic Mötley. The lyrics were written for the movie and are a reflection of our life.”

Many fans were left confused as the group signed a formal Cessation Of Touring Agreement in 2014 stating they’d never tour again. However, vocalist Vince Neil addressed the issue, tweeting, “For those of you who don’t understand, yes ‘the boys’ means Motley and we signed a contract not to tour anymore. We never broke up or said we would never make music again. Hope this clears it up.”

Earlier this week, Netflix released the official trailer to the film. The film, based on the band’s 2002 autobiography “The Dirt: Confessions of the World’s Most Notorious Rock Band” about their excess with drugs, sex, makeup, brushes with death and their share of scandalous headlines, stars Australian actor Daniel Webber as Neil, Kelly as drummer Tommy Lee, London-born actor Douglas Booth as Nikki Sixx and Whales actor Iwan Rheon as guitarist Mick Mars.

Mötley Crüe is one of the world’s biggest and most notorious rock bands. They laid the foundation for their inimitable career in the 80’s with their genre-bending music and relentless reputation, typifying an excess never before seen in modern music. They continued to evolve through the 90’s and beyond, redefining what it meant to be storytellers in music, with the release of their NY Times Best-selling book, “The Dirt,” in 2001. This page-turning rock epic offered a glimpse into The Crüe’s iconic lives and has now become a Netflix original movie, giving fans a chance to reconnect with the band they know and love in an unprecedented way.

As a band they have released nine studio albums, seven of which are certified platinum or multi-platinum, selling over 100 million copies worldwide; 22 Top 40 mainstream rock hits; six Top 20 pop singles; a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame; three GRAMMY nominations for Best Hard Rock Performance; and countless sold-out tours across the globe during their 30 plus years on the road, playing to millions and generations of fans. Besides their hook-filled, groundbreaking music, Mötley Crüe’s image pioneered an attitude, fashion sense and lifestyle all of which are portrayed throughout the film capturing the nostalgia.

CD | 2 LP

1. The Dirt (Est. 1981) * [feat. Machine Gun Kelly]
2. Red Hot
3. On With The Show
4. Live Wire
5. Merry-Go-Round
6. Take Me To The Top
7. Piece Of Your Action
8. Shout At The Devil
9. Looks That Kill
10. Too Young To Fall In Love
11. Home Sweet Home
12. Girls, Girls, Girls
13. Same Ol’ Situation (SOS)
14. Kickstart My Heart
15. Dr. Feelgood
16. Ride With The Devil *
17. Crash And Burn *
18. Like A Virgin *

* new songs

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com