Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Motörhead announces ‘Ace of Spades’ 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Remastered album will be available on deluxe formats via BMG

Motörhead is celebrating the 40th anniversary celebration of their iconic, game changing, 1980 Ace of Spades album in deluxe form on October 30th via BMG. The album that altered the course of hard rock forever will be offered on 2 CD, 2 LP, Deluxe and Super Deluxe Box sets.

These releases feature a new master of the album from original tapes, two previously unheard concerts from ’81 and a horde of never before seen photos, memorabilia plus previously unpublished interviews by the people who were there. The deluxe box set contains 42 previously unreleased tracks and a DVD of rare TV appearances.

The deluxe set will feature a half-speed master created from the original master tapes; two double live albums of previously unheard concerts from the Ace Up Your Sleeve Tour; A Fistful Of Instrumentals EP of previously unreleased, instrumental tracks from 1980; The Good, The Broke & The Ugly, a double album of B-sides, outtakes and rare tracks; Ace On Your Screens, a DVD compilation of rare TV appearances from 1980-81, a live concert from 1981 and a 5.1 audio mix of the original album; The Ace Of Spades story, a 40 page book telling the story of Ace Of Spades through previously unpublished interviews with the people that were there and never before seen photos and memorabilia; the Ace Up Your Sleeve Tour program; the Motorhead Rock Commando comic; and a set of five poker dice that can be played on the game board inside the box set lid. All of this is encased in a bespoke wooden, Wild West dynamite box.

The Super Deluxe box includes all of the above, plus a deck of Motorhead playing cards; a bespoke Texas Hold Em poker mat; a set of Motorhead casino chips; and to Motorhead shot glasses.

A limited edition 7″ reproduction of the Dutch “Ace Of Spades” single, with a previously unreleased instrumental version on Side B, will be available as a gift through Motorhead’s online store, only while supplies last.

CD 1: Ace of Spades

  1. Ace Of Spades
  2. Love Me Like A Reptile
  3. Shoot You In The Back
  4. Live To Win
  5. Fast And Loose
  6. (We Are) The Road Crew
  7. Fire Fire
  8. Jailbait
  9. Dance
  10. Bite The Bullet
  11. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
  12. The Hammer

CD 2: Live At Whitla Hall, Belfast – December 23, 1981

  1. Ace Of Spades
  2. Stay Clean
  3. Over The Top
  4. The Hammer
  5. Shoot You In The Back
  6. Metropolis
  7. (We Are) The Road Crew
  8. No Class
  9. Bite The Bullet
  10. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
  11. Jailbait
  12. Leaving Here
  13. Capricorn
  14. Too Late, Too Late
  15. Overkill
  16. Bomber
  17. Motörhead

DVD: Ace On Your Screens

Part 1: Motörhead on TV 1980-1981
Part 2: BBC In The City; Live In Belfast ‘81
Part 3: 5.1 audio mix of Ace Of Spades

A Fistful Of Instrumentals 10″

Side 1:

  1. Ace Of Spades (Instrumental demo)
  2. Hump On Your Back (Instrumental demo)
  3. Shoot You In The Back (Instrumental demo)
  4. Fast And Loose (Instrumental demo)

Side 2:

  1. Dirty Love (Instrumental demo)
  2. Love Me Like A Reptile (Instrumental demo)
  3. Dance (Instrumental demo)

Live At Parc Expo, Orleans – March 5, 1981

Side 1:

  1. Ace Of Spades
  2. Stay Clean
  3. Over The Top
  4. Metropolis
  5. Shoot You In The Back

Side 2:

  1. The Hammer
  2. Jailbait
  3. Leaving Here
  4. Fire Fire
  5. Love Me Like A Reptile

Side 3:

  1. Capricorn
  2. Too Late, Too Late
  3. (We Are) The Road Crew
  4. No Class

Side 4:

  1. Bite The Bullet
  2. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
  3. Overkill
  4. Bomber

The Good, The Broke & The Ugly

Side 1:

  1. Ace Of Spades (Alternative Version)
  2. Dirty Love
  3. Love Me Like A Reptile (Alternative Long Version)
  4. Shoot You In The Back (Alternative Version)

Side 2:

  1. Hump On Your Back
  2. Fast And Loose (Alternative Version)
  3. (We Are) The Road Crew (Alternative Version)
  4. Fire Fire (Alternative Version)
  5. Jailbait (Alternative Version)

Side 3:

  1. Waltz Of The Vampire
  2. The Hammer (Alternative Version)
  3. Dirty Love (Alternative Long Version)
  4. Bastard
  5. Godzilla Akimbo

Side 4:

  1. Love Me Like A Reptile (Alternative Version)
  2. Dirty Love (Alternative Version)
  3. Please Don’t Touch (Performed by Headgirl)
  4. Bomber (Performed by Girlschool)
  5. Emergency

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.