Muse announces ‘Origin of Muse’ boxed set

Set will be available on nine CDs and four LPs

In celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the band’s debut album Showbiz, Muse have announced the release of the deluxe boxed set Origin of Muse, available December 6th via Warner Bros. Records. This deluxe set will chronicle the band from their early beginnings in Devon, their early demos, first EPs, debut album and breakthrough record Origin of Symmetry.

The collection is housed in a 48-page casebound book which sits in a rigid board slipcase with anti-scratch and matte laminated finish with a spot gloss. The book contains an extensive and in depth interview with Matt, Dom and Chris as they talk about the earliest beginnings of the band, as well as the recording and release of their debut album Showbiz through Origin of Symmetry. The book also incorporates original posters, setlists, photographs and contact sheets, which are inserted and can be pulled out from the book as well as original artwork and all CDs and vinyl.

The audio is nine CDs and four colored vinyl containing a variety of unreleased content including the Newton Abbot Demos featuring 15 previously unreleased first demos by the band including an early version of the hit “Plug in Baby;” The Muse EPs + Showbiz Demos featuring their debut releases on Dangerous Records and previously unreleased demos for Showbiz; Showbiz remastered album; Showbiz B-Sides including a previously unreleased alternate version of “Recess;” Showbiz Live containing a previously unreleased recording of live shows broadcast on BBC Radio One in 1999/2000; Origin of Symmetry Instrumental Demos with previously unreleased recorded at the Community Centre in Teignmouth; Origin of Symmetry remastered album; Origin of Symmetry B Sides containing every B-side recorded for the single released from the album; Origin of Symmetry Live at Reading Festival featuring the full version of band’s headlining performance of entire album recorded at Reading Festival 2011 on the 10th anniversary of it release and more.

The set will not be available digitally.

9 CD/4 LP

CD 1: Newton Abbot Demos

1. Cave
2. Rain
3. Agitated
4. Crazy Days
5. Coma
6. Connect The Kettle Lead
7. Balloonatic
8. Boredom
9. Sober
10. Jimmy Kane
11. Ashamed
12. Plug In Baby
13. Earthquake
14. Good News
15. Overdue

CD 2: The Muse EPs + Showbiz Demos

1. Overdue
2. Cave
3. Coma
4. Escape
5. Muscle Museum
6. Sober
7. Uno
8. Unintended
9. Pink Ego Box
10. (Muscle Museum) #2
11. Showbiz (Live, Sawmills Studios, 1998)
12. Do We Need This (Live, Fortress Studios, 1999)
13. Sunburn (Live, Fortress Studios, 1999)
14. Overdue (Live, Fortress Studios, 1999)
15. Uno (Alternate version, Rak Studios, 1999)

CD 3: Showbiz

1. Sunburn
2. Muscle Museum
3. Fillip
4. Falling Down
5. Cave
6. Showbiz
7. Unintended
8. Uno
9. Sober
10. Spiral Static (Bonus track)
11. Escape
12. Overdue
13. Hate This & I’ll Love You

CD 4:  Showbiz B-Sides

1. Recess (Unreleased alternate version, Trident Studios, 1999)
2. Jimmy Kane
3. Forced In
4. Agitated
5. Twin
6. Host
7. Do We Need This?
8. Con-Science
9. Minimum
10. Ashamed
11. Yes Please
12. Recess
13. Nishe

CD 5: Showbiz Live

1. Uno (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
2. Cave (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
3. Muscle Museum (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
4. Falling Down (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
5. Fillip (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
6. Do We Need This (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
7. Agitated (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
8. Sunburn (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
9. Plug In Baby (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
10. Showbiz (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
11. Cave (Acoustic live demo, Airfield Studios, 1999)
12. Muscle Museum (Acoustic live demo, Airfield Studios, 1999)

CD 6: Origin of Symmetry Instrumental Demos

1. Micro Cuts
2. Feeling Good
3. Space Dementia
4. Hyper Music
5. Citizen Erased
6. Megalomania
7. Screenager
8. Shrinking Universe
9. Shine

CD 7: Origin of Symmetry

1. New Born
2. Bliss
3. Space Dementia
4. Hyper Music
5. Plug In Baby
6. Citizen Erased
7. Micro Cuts
8. Screenager
9. Darkshines
10. Feeling Good
11. Futurism (Bonus track)
12. Megalomania

CD 8: Origin of Symmetry B-Sides

1. Nature 1
2. Execution Commentary
3. Bedroom Acoustics
4. Shrinking Universe
5. Piano Thing
6. Map Of Your Head
7. The Gallery
8. Hyper Chondriac Music
9. Shine
10. Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want
11. Dead Star
12. In Your World
13. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You

CD 9: Origin of Symmetry, Live at Reading Festival

1. New Born
2. Bliss
3. Space Dementia
4. Hyper Music
5. Plug In Baby
6. Citizen Erased
7. Micro Cuts
8. Screenager
9. Darkshines
10. Feeling Good
11. Megalomania

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.