Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame announces 2019 induction nominees

Toby Keith, Brad Paisley and Dwight Yoakam are among the nominees

Twelve exemplary tunesmiths are 2019 nominees for the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame (NaSHOF) – eight in the Songwriters category and four in the Songwriter/Artists category.

All nominees experienced their first significant (Top 20) songs at least 20 years ago. Two songwriters and one songwriter/artist, elected by their professional songwriter peers, will be inducted at the 49th Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on Monday, October 14th at the Music City Center in Nashville.

The three will be joined by a veteran songwriter and a veteran songwriter/artist elected by a separate body of veteran voters. Those nominees experienced their first significant (Top 20) songs at least 30 years ago. Nominees are not announced in these categories. All inductees will be announced later this summer, preceding the annual gala.

This year’s nominees in the Songwriter category are:

  • Shawn Camp
  • Ed Hill
  • Marcus Hummon
  • Archie Jordan
  • Kostas
  • Rivers Rutherford
  • Ronnie Rogers
  • Jerry Salley

The nominees in the Songwriter/Artist category are:

  • Toby Keith
  • Brad Paisley
  • Eddy Raven
  • Dwight Yoakam

The gala is the primary annual fundraiser for the nonprofit Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, whose mission is to honor Nashville’s rich legacy of songwriting excellence through preservation, celebration and education.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.