Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

NBC and iHeartMedia celebrate music’s biggest stars with second year of the ‘iHeartRadio Music Awards’

The second year of the iHeartRadio Music Awards brought the biggest names in entertainment to the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles to celebrate fans and all things music. The awards show presented by iHeartMedia aired live on NBC, on iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide and across the iHeartRadio digital music platform on Sunday, March 29th.

The awards brought the music of the iHeartRadio app to life with featured performances and incredible collaborations, including Iggy Azalea and Jennifer Hudson, Nick Jonas, Sam Smith, Madonna with surprise special guest Taylor Swift, Jason Aldean, Jamie Foxx and Chris Brown, Meghan Trainor, Jason Derulo, Kelly Clarkson, Snoop Dogg and Charlie Wilson, Nate Ruess, Florida Georgia Line and the world premiere performance of the new Rihanna song “Bitch Better Have My Money.”

Justin Timberlake received the most prestigious award of the evening, the 2015 iHeartRadio Innovator Award.

5 Seconds of Summer, Adam Devine, Billy Eichner, Tom Ford, Taraji P. Henson, Ludacris, Anna Camp, Reba McEntire, Jeremy Piven, Gina Rodriguez, Ryan Seacrest, Liev Schreiber, Brittany Snow, Ryan Tedder, Mike Tyson, Steven Yuen, Zendaya, Ian Ziering and more made special guest appearances.

A highlight of the show featured the music world’s top music stars, including Steve Aoki, Bono, Luke Bryan, Charli XCX, Foo Fighters, Selena Gomez, Imagine Dragons, Nicki Minaj, Ne-Yo, Keith Richards, Andy Samberg, Cole Swindell, and Steven Tyler sharing details of their personal journeys of how they got where they are today.

Category winners were:

Artist of the Year:

Taylor Swift

Song of the Year:
“Shake It Off” – Taylor Swift

Best Collaboration:

“Bang Bang” – Jessie J + Ariana Grande + Nicki Minaj

Best New Artist:

Sam Smith

Country Song of the Year:

“Burnin’ It Down” – Jason Aldean

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year:
“Don’t Tell ‘Em” – Jeremih featuring YG

Dance Song of the Year:

“Summer” – Calvin Harris

Alternative Rock Song of the Year:

“Take Me to Church” – Hozier

Best Lyrics:

“Blank Space” – Taylor Swift

Best Fan Army presented by Taco Bell:

5SOSFAM – 5 Seconds of Summer

Renegade Award presented by the All New 2015 Jeep Renegade:

Brantley Gilbert

The iHeartRadio Music Awards was a dominant social media topic the night of the show, with #iHeartAwards trending No. 1 worldwide and in the U.S. on Twitter throughout the night.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.