Ne-Yo announces ‘Self Explanatory’

Album drops July 15th

R&B hitmaker Ne-Yo has announced that his eighth studio album, Self Explanatory, will be released on July 15th via Motown Records. The announcement accompanies the release of his new single, “You Got The Body,” available now digitally.

The track follows the new singles – “Stay Down” featuring Yung Bleu, “Don’t Love Me,” and “U 2 Luv,” all of which will appear on the project.

In his career to date, Ne-Yo has sold a cumulative 20+ million adjusted albums worldwide. The Motown Records/Compound Entertainment recording artist has won three GRAMMY awards and been honored with a total of 14 nominations. His first single, 2005’s “So Sick,” hit No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100, and was certified quadruple platinum.

He has proven to be as powerful with his pen as he is in the recording studio and on stage. The Las Vegas native quickly became known as a go-to hitmaker, penning bangers like Rihanna’s “Unfaithful,” “Russian Roulette,” and “Take a Bow,” along with Beyoncé’s 2006 breakup anthem “Irreplaceable” and songs for such artists as Jennifer Hudson, Usher, Carrie Underwood, Celine Dion, among others.


Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 13675