New Genesis boxed set coming in Sept

Genesis has announced that a new boxed set is coming in September from Universal Music. Spanning an incredible 42 years, R-Kive is a new 3 CD, 37-track set that documents the band’s history in the most comprehensive way yet.

Compiled by the band themselves via a process of collaboration and elimination, R-Kive takes an in-depth, chronological journey through the catalog and – for the first time ever for a Genesis collection – includes three personally chosen selections from the solo careers of Tony Banks, Phil Collins, Peter Gabriel, Steve Hackett, and Mike Rutherford / Mike + The Mechanics.

The set will be released in the UK on September 22nd and internationally September 29th.

In June, the band announced they have been working with the BCC on a feature length documentary entitled Genesis: Together And Apart, chronicling the story of on one of the most successful bands in rock history. The film is set to air on the BCC in early October.

Genesis had been teasing “exciting news” for August 22nd leaving many fans to believe the original band, who hadn’t performed together since Gabriel left in 1975, would reunite for a new album and tour in support of the documentary.

3 CD

CD 1:

1. The Knife from ‘Trepass’ (1970)
2. The Musical Box from ‘Nursery Cryme’ (1971)
3. Supper’s Ready from ‘Foxtrot’ (1972)
4. The Cinema Show from ‘Selling England By The Pound’ (1973)
5. I Know What I Like from ‘Selling England By The Pound’ (1973)
6. The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway from ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ (1974)
7. Back In N.Y.C. from ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ (1974)
8. The Carpet Crawlers from ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ (1974)
9. Ace of Wands from Steve Hackett’s ‘Voyage of the Acolyte’ (1975)

CD 2:

1. Ripples from ‘A Trick of the Tail’ (1976)
2. Afterglow from ‘Wind & Wuthering’ (1976)
3. Solsbury Hill from Peter Gabriel’s first self-titled album (1977)
4. Follow You Follow Me from ‘And Then There Were Three’ (1978)
5. For A While from Tony Banks’s ‘A Curious Feeling’ (1979)
6. Every Day from Steve Hackett’s ‘Spectral Mornings’ (1979)
7. Biko from Peter Gabriel’s third self-titled album (1980)
8. Turn It On Again from ‘Duke’ (1980)
9. In The Air Tonight from Phil Collins’s ‘Face Value’ (1981)
10. Abacab from ‘Abacab’ (1981)
11. Mama from ‘Genesis’ (1983)
12. That’s All from ‘Genesis’ (1983)
13. Easy Lover (Originally released in 1984)
14. Silent Running from Mike + The Mechanics’s self-titled album (1985)

CD 3:

1. Invisible Touch from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
2. Land of Confusion from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
3. Tonight Tonight Tonight from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
4. The Living Years from Mike + The Mechanic’s ‘Living Years’ (1989)
5. Red Day on Blue Street from Tony Banks’s ‘Still’ (1991)
6. I Can’t Dance from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
7. No Son of Mine from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
8. Hold On My Heart from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
9. Over My Shoulder from Mike + The Mechanics’s ‘Beggar On A Beach Of Gold’ (1995)
10. Calling All Stations from ‘Calling All Stations’ (1997)
11. Signal To Noise from Peter Gabriel’s ‘Up’ (2002)
12. Wake Up Call from Phil Collins’s ‘Testify’ (2002)
13. Nomads from Steve Hackett’s ‘Out Of The Tunnel’s Mouth’ (2009)
14. Siren from Tony Banks’s ‘Six: Pieces of Orchestra’ (2012)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.