New Hendrix documentary DVD, live album detailed

Two more Jimi Hendrix releases are coming this fall as part of a year long celebration of the guitarist’s 70th birthday. A Blu-ray/DVD documentary and a previously unreleased live album will hit stores on November 5th via Sony Legacy in conjunction with Experience Hendrix.

The two hour DVD documentary entitled Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train A Comin’ will also be shown as part of PBS’ American Masters series on the same day as its release. The documentary is directed by Bob Smeaton who’s music film credits include Hendrix: Band of Gypsys (1999), Jimi Hendrix: The Dick Cavett Show (2002), Jimi Hendrix: Voodoo Child (2010), Hendrix 70: Live at Woodstock (2012), The Beatles Anthology, Festival Express and several Classic Albums installments.

The CD/LP will feature a previously unreleased live concert by the Jimi Hendrix Experience from 1968 called Miami Pop Festival. The album is drawn from Hendrix’s two performances at the Miami Pop Festival on May 18, 1968 following the release of the group’s second album Axis: Bold As Love.

The New York Times reports the disc will contain some of the earliest recorded concert performances of “Hear My Train a Comin’” and “Tax Free,” but also features “Hey Joe,” “I Don’t Live Today,” “Red House” and “Purple Haze,” with versions of “Foxy Lady” and “Fire” from both the afternoon and evening shows.

The film footage of the concert was recently discovered and parts of it will be included in the documentary. Smeaton told the Times that he had to work on making the film different from the previous Hendrix films he had worked on.

“When you make a film like this, is that you try to get to the real musicality of the guy, rather than just ‘here we go again, another guitar solo,’” Smeaton said. “There’s a section where Eddie Kramer, his producer, is sitting at the mixing desk, playing each of the four guitar tracks on ‘Little Wing.’ Each part is different, and when you put them together, it’s orchestral. So you hear about Hendrix playing the guitar with his teeth, or behind his head. But he knew what he was doing. And that sometimes gets overshadowed by the crazy hair and the other stuff.”

While it was announced that the latest Hendrix album, People, Hell & Angels, was the final package to contain unreleased studio material, there’s no word on how much live material is left unreleased.

Blu-ray | DVD | CD | 200-g LP

1. Introduction
2. Hey Joe
3. Foxey Lady
4. Tax Free
5. Fire
6. Hear My Train a Comin’
7. I Don’t Live Today
8. Red House
9. Purple Haze
10. Fire (Afternoon Show)
11. Foxey Lady (Afternoon Show)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *