New Kids on the Block detail ‘Hangin’ Tough 30th Anniversary

New Kids on the Block are set to release the previously announced reissue of breakout album Hangin’ Tough on March 8, 2019 by Sony Music Entertainment. In celebration of the 30th anniversary of Hangin’ Tough, the reissue will feature all ten original tracks from the 1988 album as well as three newly recorded tracks, including the band’s newest single “80s Baby,” and five rare remix tracks. Hangin’ Tough (30th Anniversary Edition) will be made available digitally and on CD, collectible 2 LP picture disc vinyl, and as a exclusive cassette.

NKOTB’s career defining album Hangin’ Tough produced hits like “Please Don’t Go Girl,” which became the group’s first top ten single on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, “You Got It (The Right Stuff),” a global hit that reached number three on the charts, “I’ll Be Loving You (Forever),” which became the group’s first number one on the Billboard Hot 100, followed by the album’s title track which also went to number one, and “Cover Girl,” a fan favorite that hit number two on the charts.

When first released, Hangin’ Tough received critical acclaim, won two American Music Awards for Favorite Pop/Rock Album and Favorite Pop/Rock Band/Duo/Group, and garnered them a Grammy nomination for Best Music Video, Long Form (now called Best Music Film). With sales of more than 14 million copies worldwide and certified 8x platinum in the US, the album remains the group’s best-selling to date.

Following the special 30th anniversary release of Hangin’ Tough, NKOTB is set to embark on their epic 2019 The MixTape Tour with very special guests Salt-N-Pepa, Naughty By Nature, Debbie Gibson and Tiffany. The group gave fans a preview of what to expect from the new, never released music when they dropped “80s Baby,” the first of the three new tracks, featuring all acts from the tour’s epic lineup. All new tracks will feature iconic NKOTB vocals with beats true to their instantly recognizable musical style written and produced by KayGee, Trampbaby, Illtown Sluggaz and Eric Hall.

Kicking off May 2nd in Cincinnati, OH and continuing through over 50 North American cities, the tour will also include stops in Boston, New York, Chicago, Atlanta, Dallas and LA’s famed Hollywood Bowl.

CD | 2 LP

1. You Got It (The Right Stuff)
2. Please Don’t Go Girl
3. I’ll Be Loving You (Forever)
4. Cover Girl
5. I Need You
6. Hangin’ Tough
7. I Remember When
8. What’Cha Gonna Do (About It)
9. My Favorite Girl
10. Hold On
11. Please Don’t Go Girl (Extended Version)
12. You Got It (The Right Stuff) – 7” Version
13. I’ll Be Loving You Forever – 7” Remix
14. Hangin’ Tough (TOUGHER MIX) – previously unreleased in the U.S.
15. Cover Girl – 7” Remix – previously unreleased in the U.S.
16. 80s Baby (ft. Salt-N-Pepa, Naughty By Nature, Tiffany, Debbie Gibson)
17. Boys In The Band (Boy Band Anthem)
18. The Way You Should Be Loved

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: