New Reba McEntire album due April 5th; hosting ACMS April 7th

Singer’s first new country release in four years

Reba McEntire is releasing new music in 2019 as promised. Her new single, “Stronger Than The Truth” will be released to digital and streaming outlets on Friday, February 15th with an album of the same name on April 5th via Big Machine Records. Reba co-produced the 12-track project with Buddy Cannon in Nashville. The song is the first new music since 2017’s double gospel album, Sing It Now: Songs of Hope and Faith and her first country album since 2015’s Love Somebody.

The news comes after a cryptic tease on social media late Friday night (Feb 8th), stating, “What’s #StrongerThanTheTruth? I’ll let you know on Monday.”

“The response to Sing It Now: Songs of Hope & Faith reinforced my love for recording songs that speak to the heart. So when I started selecting songs for this album, I stuck with that same formula – go with the songs that touch my heart, and hopefully when you hear me singing it, they’ll touch yours too. That honesty once again revealed itself,” McEntire expresses. “I grew up on an 8,000-acre family ranch singing at dance halls, honky-tonks and rodeos with my brother and sister. Stronger Than The Truth takes me back to that kind of country music that I grew up with. I haven’t gotten to do that in a while, so I’m thrilled to pieces to release this new music.”

The album is McEntire’s 30th studio album and is her most traditional country album yet. “I’ve got a brand new album, #StrongerThanTheTruth, coming out Friday, April 5,” the country singer writes on social media. “This is the most country record I’ve done in a long time and I can’t wait for you to hear it. The first song and title track will be available on all streaming services this Friday, February 15. In the meantime, you can pre-order your copy of the album now at! Stay tuned for lots more to come!!!”

Fans can purchase exclusive album bundles such as the 100-Proof Package (autographed vinyl, shot glass, bar tool set and t-shirt). McEntire will share more details about the project through a Facebook Live at noon CT on Friday, February 15th in conjunction with the pre-order that includes an immediate download of the title track. Official track listing is below. McEntire co-wrote two tracks on the project including one with Ronnie Dunn.

1. Swing All Night Long With You
2. Stronger Than The Truth
3. Storm In A Shot Glass
4. Tammy Wynette Kind Of Pain
5. Cactus In A Coffee Can
6. Your Heart
7. The Clown
8. No U In Oklahoma
9. The Bar’s Getting Lower
10. In His Mind
11. Freedom
12. You Never Gave Up On Me

It was also revealed during last night’s (Sun, Feb 10th) GRAMMY Awards on CBS that the singer would be returning as host for the 54th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards (ACMs) on April 7th live from Las Vegas. The show will air on CBS from 8-11 pm ET/PT.

Symbolically marking the 16-time ACM Award winner’s 16th time leading the night, the live telecast will take place from MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas and airs on the CBS Television Network at 8:00 PM ET/delayed PT. She returned as host last year after taking several years off from hosting or co-hosting the event for nearly a decade straight. Reba will announce the nominees during CBS This Morning on February 20th.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.