Buddy Iahn has your Notable Releases for August 22, 2020

We kick it off with an article I scooped before ABC’s Good Morning America had a chance to scoop it. Last Friday, Shania Twain announced a diamond edition of her double diamond The Woman In Me album as the project celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2020. The reissue will be available on October 2nd as a 2 CD, LP, limited edition clear LP sets and a Super Deluxe Edition 3 CD box set containing the Diamond Edition, a Live & Remixed disc and Shania Vocal Mix that features early takes from before the album’s release. The set features 16 previously unreleased tracks, including live performances, remixes and more. The 3 CD set contains a 48 page booklet.

Tom Petty’s Estate has announced Wildflowers & All The Rest, the long-awaited Wildflowers reissue and comprehensive collection that was first mentioned in 2015, for October 16th via Warner Records. The 2 CD and 3 LP set features 25 tracks, with five unreleased songs, and lyrics to all the songs on Wildflowers and All The Rest. The Deluxe Edition is a 4 CD and 7 LP set that features 54 tracks, eight unreleased songs and 24 unreleased versions. The 4 CD includes the Rick Rubin introduction, track-by-track for all the songs included on these formats, while the 7 LP also includes the David Fricke essay and lyrics to all the songs on Wildflowers and All The Rest. The Super Deluxe Edition is a 5 CD and 9 LP Direct to Consumer, Limited Edition set that features 70 tracks, nine unreleased songs and 34 unreleased versions.

Black Sabbath will release a 50th anniversary of its blockbuster Paranoid album on Oct 9th. Paranoid: Super Deluxe Edition includes the original album, in addition to a rare 1974 Quad Mix of the album folded down to stereo, plus two concerts from 1970 that are pressed on vinyl for the first time. The five LP set comes with a hardbound book with extensive liner notes featuring interviews with all four band members, rare photos, and memorabilia, a poster, as well as a replica of the tour book sold during the Paranoid tour.

The Doors will reissue Morrison Hotel for its 50th anniversary on October 9th via Rhino Records. Morrison Hotel: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition features 2 CDs and a single LP with the original album newly remastered by the band’s longtime engineer and mixer Bruce Botnick, plus a bonus disc of unreleased studio outtakes, and the original album on 180-gram virgin vinyl.

On October 2nd, Dolly Parton will release A Holly Dolly Christmas, her first new holiday project in 30 years. It will feature a mix of originals and holiday standards with appearances by Michael Bublé, Billy Ray Cyrus, goddaughter Miley Cyrus, Jimmy Fallon, Willie Nelson, and Parton’s her brother Randy Parton. The project includes a cover of Willie Nelson’s “Pretty Paper” with Red Headed Stranger himself and Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You” that features Fallon.

Something else we also brought you first is a new Bob Mould project that chronicles his solo career and that of his band Sugar. Distortion: 1989-2019 is an anthology that compiles Mould’s recorded work from 1989 onwards featuring 18 studio albums, four live albums and two albums of rarities and collaborations. It’s a 24 CD box set that features 295 tracks. One thousand limited edition sets contain a hand signed print by Mould himself. The same day will also see a first in a series of four vinyl box sets spanning the same 30-year period. All songs have been remastered.

Linkin Park will reissue its groundbreaking debut album Hybrid Theory as a 20th anniversary edition multi-format release on October 9th via Warner Bros. The project will be released on 2 CD, 4 LP and a Super Deluxe Edition box set featuring a treasure trove of unreleased tracks. The limited edition Super Deluxe set includes unreleased and hard-to-find material on 5 CDs, 4 LPs, and 3 DVDs- plus an 80-page book, oversize poster, three lithographs, replica tour laminate, 2-track street team cassette sampler, and a download card.

Dire Straits are getting the a complete albums collection on October 9th. Rhino will release all six of the band’s albums on 6 CDs and 8 LPs in a deluxe clamshell box. The CDs will be housed in mini-LP style cardboard wallets, and each album will include a beautiful poster with the original sleeve artwork including lyrics and credits. The vinyl edition will be available on newly re-cut 180-gram vinyl.

Justin Moore recreates the excitement of attending live shows on his newly announced Live at the Ryman record due September 25th via The Valory Music Co. The 17 track album features special guests Chris Janson, Ricky Skaggs and David Lee Murphy. It was recorded as he made his first-ever headlining appearance at the legendary Nashville venue in May 2018. Digital editions will be available at all DSPs while physical albums will be available exclusively at Walmart.

Luke Combs has announced a deluxe edition of last year’s What You See Is What You Get called What You See Ain’t Always What You Get for October 23rd via Sony Music Nashville. The updated edition includes his COVID-19-inspired “Six Feet Apart” and five other songs he’s likely performed during his quarantine livestreams, bringing the total to 23 tracks.

Tears For Fears will release a remastered deluxe edition of its third album, The Seeds Of Love on October 9th. UMe/Virgin will issue it on single CD, single LP, 2 CD Deluxe and 4 CD/Blu-ray Super Deluxe Edition featuring 22 unreleased tracks from demo sessions, live jams, studio sessions along with a definitive set of B-sides, and rare mixes. The Blu-ray also features a stunning 5.1 mix by Grammy-nominated artist Steven Wilson.