Omnivore Recordings to release Buck Owens ‘Buck ‘Em Volume 2’ 2 CD set Nov 13th

After the unprecedented success of Buck ’Em! The Music of Buck Owens (1955-1967), Omnivore Recordings is prepared to take the country icon’s story to the next stage with Buck ’Em! Volume 2: The Music of Buck Owens (1967-1975). Street date for the new two CD set is November 13th. Volume 1 remains available.

If Volume 1 started the story, Buck ’Em! Volume 2 continues it, tracing the influential music of Bakersfield’s hero via an impressive 50 tracks.

From #1 singles like “Who’s Gonna Mow Your Grass,” “Johnny B. Goode,” and “Tall Dark Stranger,” to favorites including “Ain’t It Amazing, Gracie” and the original version of “Streets of Bakersfield,” Buck ’Em: Volume 2 continues the journey of Alvis Edgar Owens, Jr. [Buck] throughout his run into the 1970s and into the homes of America on Hee Haw.

Featuring notes culled from the best-selling book, Buck ’Em! The Autobiography of Buck Owens by the artist with Randy Poe, and featuring photos and ephemera, the legend of Buck reigns supreme with this capper to the first volume. With mastering from Michael Graves, whose work on Hank Williams’ The Garden Spot Programs, 1950 earned him a Grammy, the listener is not only reliving history, but hearing it better than it’s ever sounded.

Buck ’Em! Volume 2: The Music of Buck Owens (1967-1975) is not just a sequel to an impressive and successful release, it is the continuation of the appreciation of a true American legend.

2 CD

CD 1:

1. Happy Times Are Here Again
2. Sweet Rosie Jones
3. Your Mother’s Prayer
4. You’ll Never Miss the Water (Till The Well Runs Dry)
5. If I Had Three Wishes
6. Let the World Keep on a Turnin’ — Buck Owens and Buddy Alan
7. Things I Saw Happening at the Fountain on the Plaza When I Was Visiting Rome or Amore
8. Darlin’, You Can Depend on Me (alternate version)
9. I’ve Got a Tiger by the Tail (live at the White House)
10. Who’s Gonna Mow Your Grass
11. We’re Gonna Get Together — Buck Owens and Susan Raye
12. I’ve Got You on My Mind Again (live in London)
13. Johnny B. Goode (live in London)
14. Today I Started Loving You Again — Buck Owens and Bettye Swann (outtake)
15. Big in Vegas (live in Las Vegas)
16. Las Vegas Lament (live in Las Vegas)
17. The Kansas City Song
18. Down in New Orleans (early version)
19. Tall Dark Stranger (live in Scandinavia)
20. I Wouldn’t Live in New York City (If They Gave Me the Whole Dang Town)
21. Bridge Over Troubled Water
22. (I’m Goin’) Home
23. Ruby (Are You Mad)
24. Corn Likker
25. I’ll Still Be Waiting for You (live in Reno)

CD 2:

1. Arms Full of Empty
2. Ain’t It Amazing, Gracie
3. You Ain’t Gonna Have Ol’ Buck to Kick Around No More
4. I Love You So Much It Hurts
5. Something’s Wrong
6. In the Palm of Your Hand
7. Streets of Bakersfield
8. The Good Old Days (Are Here Again)
9. I Won’t Be Needing You
10. It Never Will Be Over for Me
11. Big Game Hunter
12. (It’s a) Monster’s Holiday
13. Stony Mountain West Virginia
14. Holdin’ On
15. On the Cover of the Music City News (live in Japan)
16. Made In Japan (live in Japan)
17. Somewhere Between You and Me — Buck Owens and Susan Raye (live in New Zealand)
18. Rollin’ in My Sweet Baby’s Arms (live in Australia)
19. Great Expectations
20. 41st Street Lonely Hearts’ Club
21. Weekend Daddy
22. He Ain’t Been Out Bowling With the Boys (outtake)
23. A Different Kind of Sad (outtake)
24. The Battle of New Orleans
25. Country Singer’s Prayer

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.