‘Orange Is The New Black’ soundtrack announced

Universal Music Enterprises has announced the release of Music From The Original Series Orange Is The New Black, from the hit Netflix original series Orange Is the New Black on May 13th. The line-up of artists includes Regina Spektor, Kelis, The Velvet Underground & Nico, and more. The soundtrack will come in three configurations including CD, digital and a special edition, first run only in orange vinyl. It will revert to black vinyl after initial run. Lionsgate Home Entertainment will also release the Orange Is the New Black: Season One Blu-ray and DVD on the same day.

The full album track list features an eclectic line-up, including “Walkin Up The Road” by Betty Davis, “Milkshake” by Kelis, “Sunday Morning” by The Velvet Underground & Nico, and the Grammy nominated “You’ve Got Time” by Regina Spektor, which was specifically created for the show.

“I feel like it’s truly an inspired work. I loved this song when I first heard it, but I loved it even more once I got to hear and see how beautifully it impacted our main titles,” explains Music Supervisor Bruce Gilbert. “There’s an immediate urgency to it that gives way to an emotion that breathes even more life into the stunning portraits of the prisoners.”

Orange Is the New Black follows engaged Brooklynite Piper Chapman, whose wild past comes back to haunt her and results in her arrest and detention in a federal penitentiary. To pay her debt to society, Piper trades her comfortable New York life for an orange prison jumpsuit and finds unexpected conflict and camaraderie amidst an eccentric group of inmates.

CD | LP | Blu-ray | DVD

1. You’ve Got Time (Regina Spektor)
2. Walkin Up The Road (Betty Davis)
3. Move And Groove Together (Latimore)
4. Gangsta (TuneYards)
5. I’ll Take You There (The Staple Singers)
6. Milkshake (Kelis)
7. Walking Backwards (Leagues)
8. Kickface (Little Foot Long Foot)
9. Sunday Morning (Velvet Underground & Nico)
10. Living This Life Makes It Hard (The Dutchess and The Duke)
11. Chicken (Nancy Cassidy)
12. Baby Face (Whispering Jack Smith)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.