Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Pair of David Bowie special RSD releases revealed

Parlophone will be releasing two limited edition edition David Bowie albums on vinyl for the 10th anniversary of Record Store Day on April 22nd. Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) and Bowpromo — the ultra-rare Hunky Dory era promo album — will make their way to independent record stores.

The former is the first official release of this Philly Dogs Tour show from September 1974, some of which was featured in Alan Yentob’s BBC documentary, Cracked Actor. The full concert is documented on this triple vinyl five-sided album. The sixth side features an etching of the Diamond Dogs era Bowie logo.

All of the multi-track tapes were finally reunited in one place in November of last year and mixed officially for the first time by long time Bowie collaborator Tony Visconti. The packaging features newly commissioned artwork with rare and unseen photographs from the 1974 Universal Amphitheatre show by Terry O’Neill and Jamie Andrews in a gatefold sleeve.

The album differs greatly from Bowie’s David Live album (also from 1974), as it features a new band line up including soul legend Luther Vandross on vocals. It also has a different set list including two tracks that had just been recorded for the album The Gouster, which was finally released for the first time last year as part of the critically acclaimed Who Can I Be Now? box set.

Recorded live at Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles on 5th September 1974. Produced by David Bowie. Mixed by Tony Visconti at Human Studios, NYC in October/November 2016.

Bowpromo was originally pressed in very small quantities in 1971 and features alternate mixes of some of the songs that would eventually be released on the Hunky Dory album. The A-side contained seven Bowie tracks, relatively new material at the time, five of which would appear on Bowie’s next album, Hunky Dory. On the B-side were five tracks recorded by another artist on the GEM roster, Dana Gillespie.

This RSD, one-sided release faithfully replicates the original promo featuring Bowie’s seven tracks plus five exclusive Bowie prints and new sleeve notes regarding the original promo, all housed in a special presentation box. Produced by Ken Scott (assisted by The Actor), mixed by Ken Scott at Trident Studios, London.

Cracked Actor

Side 1:

  1. Introduction
  2. 1984
  3. Rebel Rebel
  4. Moonage Daydream
  5. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing

Side 2:

  1. Changes
  2. Suffragette City
  3. Aladdin Sane
  4. All The Young Dudes
  5. Cracked Actor

Side 3:

  1. Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me
  2. Knock On Wood
  3. It’s Gonna Be Me
  4. Space Oddity

Side 4:

  1. Diamond Dogs
  2. Big Brother
  3. Time

Side 5:

  1. The Jean Genie
  2. Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide
  3. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)

Side 6:

David Bowie logo etching



  1. Oh! You Pretty Things
  2. Eight Line Poem
  3. Kooks
  4. It Ain’t Easy
  5. Queen Bitch
  6. Quicksand
  7. Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.