Parlophone celebrating David Bowie ‘Heroes’ 45th anniversary

Grey vinyl album available Oct 14th

Originally released on 14th October, 1977, “Heroes” was David Bowie’s 12th studio album. To celebrate its 45th anniversary, Parlophone is proud to announce a special limited edition brick & mortar outlet-only grey vinyl pressing of the album due October 14th.

After releasing the ground-breaking Low in January 1977, Bowie toured and recorded playing keyboards in Iggy Pop’s band. He returned that summer to the Hansa Tonstudio in Berlin to begin work on a new album. Unlike the rest of the so-called Berlin Trilogy, Heroes was the only Bowie album recorded there in its entirety. Produced by Bowie and Tony Visconti, the central band from the Low album returned, this time joined by King Crimson guitarist Robert Fripp.

“Heroes” was a commercial success, peaking at No. 3 in the UK and No. 35 in the US. The title track is now widely recognized as a classic and as one of Bowie’s most beloved songs, having been used in the London 2012 Olympic opening ceremony and critically acclaimed films such as Moulin Rouge and Jojo Rabbit. It has also become one of Bowie’s most covered songs with interpretations by artists such as Prince, Coldplay, Motörhead, Depeche Mode, Lady Gaga, King Crimson and The Wallflowers.

After the album’s release, Bowie embarked on the 78 date Isolar II World Tour throughout 1978. Live In Berlin (1978) was originally released as an eight-song orange vinyl mini album exclusively available at the David Bowie Is… exhibition in Brooklyn, New York. It is being made available digitally for the first time as well. The music was recorded on May 16, 1978 at the Deutschlandhalle in West Berlin, and the front cover features a shot taken at the show by fan Antoine Loogman.

Side 1:

  1. Beauty And The Beast
  2. Joe The Lion
  3. “Heroes”
  4. Sons Of The Silent Age
  5. Blackout

Side 2:

  1. V-2 Schneider
  2. Sense Of Doubt
  3. Moss Garden
  4. Neuköln
  5. The Secret Life Of Arabia

David Bowie – Live in Berlin (1978)

  1. “Heroes”
  2. Be My Wife
  3. Blackout
  4. Sense Of Doubt
  5. Breaking Glass
  6. Fame
  7. Alabama Song
  8. Rebel Rebel

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 14282