Patty Griffin unveils rarities album

Tape is a collection of previously unreleased demos & home recordings

Two-time GRAMMY Award-winning artist Patty Griffin has announced the upcoming release of Tape, a collection of rare demos and home recordings to be released on her own PGM Recordings label via Thirty Tigers on CD and at all DSPs and streaming services on Friday, June 10th. The project will be available on cassette via RecordingTheMasters – the worldwide leader in reel-to-reel tape manufacturing – in conjunction with ThinkIndie Distribution on Friday, June 17th.

Tape – which follows 2019’s critically acclaimed, GRAMMY Award-winning self-titled project – is heralded by the premiere of “Get Lucky,” available now at all DSPs and streaming services. A lyric video for the song is also available now via YouTube.

“At some point in the pandemic, I was digging through my own music streaming to relearn some of my own oldies and found something that had been compiled (perhaps by a computer algorithm) that was titled as a ‘rarities’ or ‘deep cuts’ collection,” Griffin says. “I looked of course, and it was a pretty boring list for the most part. I later dug through some recordings I had done on cheap home recording apps, including my favorite one called TapeDeck which I’m not sure exists anymore. I really liked some of the songs. They were better than I had remembered. I dug around some more and found things from some GarageBand recordings, and then also a couple of things from an in-studio demo session in Nashville that were pretty interesting, including a duet I did with Robert Plant when we first met. It all seemed worth listening to. Back then I didn’t think so, but I do now.

“The sound quality on the majority of things on Tape is pretty low, but the performances are what really matter to me. My home recordings are almost always my favorite recordings, as far as capturing a fresh, direct feeling. The shy introvert’s dilemma…I’ve always had a hard time creating that same feeling in a studio full of people whose talent is in sound quality. These songs have a feel you can only get when you’re by yourself at three o’clock in the morning. To listen to the bulk of these recordings, you do have to let go of the idea of good sound quality and just listen to the performance. I feel better getting some true rarities out there for people to listen to…not compiled by a computer algorithm.”

A limited number of Tape cassettes will be on sale at Griffin’s upcoming North American tour supporting The Chicks, set to get underway June 14th at Maryland Heights, MO’s Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre and then continuing through mid-August.

Griffin will precede the summer tour with a headline run of her own, beginning April 27th at New Orleans’ world-famous Tipitina’s and then traveling the US through a two-night stand at New Braunfels, TX’s historic Gruene Hall on May 7th and 8th. In addition, Griffin will be among the special guests at Rodney Crowell’s It Starts With A Song, a four-day songwriting camp set for August 25-29 at Nashville’s Scarritt Bennet Center.

  1. Get Lucky
  2. One Day We Could
  3. Strip of Light
  4. Don’t Mind
  5. Sundown
  6. Little Yellow House
  7. Night
  8. Kiss of a Man
  9. Octaves
  10. Forever Shall Be

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 13675