Paul McCartney announces ‘Egypt Station Explorer Edition’

May 17th release features Egypt Station II of additional studio and live tracks

Paul McCartney has confirmed a May 17th release for Egypt Station – Explorer’s Edition on Capitol Records on 2 CD and 3 LP. This expanded version of McCartney’s No. 1 charting Egypt Station will arrive barely a week prior to the start of the U.S. leg of his Freshen Up Tour — his first extended stateside run since the One On One Tour that played to some two million fans around the world.

Egypt Station – Explorer’s Edition is comprised of the original record plus a second album, Egypt Station II. The bonus disc collects all songs released during the Egypt Station voyage, from studio tracks including the surprise single “Get Enough” to live performances captured at stops such as Abbey Road Studios, The Cavern and Grand Central Station.

Explorer Edition comes a week after Capitol Records releases Egypt Station Traveller’s Edition on May 10th. The strictly limited edition will be available as a one-time-only pressing limited to 3,000 numbered cases. The Traveller’s Edition arrives in a vintage style suitcase and contains exclusive previously unreleased tracks, hidden rarities and all the essentials needed on your journey to Egypt Station and beyond.

Egypt Station was released September 7, 2018. The album entered the Billboard 200 at No. 1, making it the third Non-Beatles/Wings McCartney effort to top the U.S. chart and McCartney’s first Stateside No. 1 since 1982’s Tug Of War — and McCartney’s first solo album to enter the chart at No. 1. Egypt Station won unanimous praise from critics the world over: In a four-star lead review, Rolling Stone said, “Macca keeps adding new gems to his songbook, with nothing to prove except he’s the only genius who can do this… (And, oh yeah — in his spare time, he happens to still be the greatest live performer on Earth.)” London’s Sunday Times, Q Magazine and MOJO also awarded the album four stars, while The New York Times’ Jon Pareles observed, “McCartney contemplates mortality and pain while still trying to offer love and strength.” TIME declared Egypt Station “Essential… a document of McCartney’s spirit, which is still irrepressible more than five decades after the Beatles made their debut.” NPR said, “This is his best album in maybe 20 years.” People noted, “Egypt Station is a tour through the imagination of one of our greatest artists — what’s not to love? It’s a celebration of all the things that make McCartney great: hope, exuberance, open mindedness and sweet melody. These days, we need all of these more than ever.”

2 CD | 3 LP

  1. Get Started
  2. Nothing For Free
  3. Frank Sinatra’s Party
  4. Sixty Second Street
  5. Who Cares [Full Length]
  6. Get Enough
  7. Come On To Me [Live At Abbey Road Studios]
  8. Fuh You [Live At The Cavern]
  9. Confidante [Live At LIPA]
  10. Who Cares [Live At Grand Central Station]

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.