Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Pearl Jam invites all drummers for Rock Hall induction

Pearl Jam has invited all five of their drummers to join them for their upcoming Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction. When the Rock Hall announced Pearl Jam as Inductees on December 20th, only original drummer Dave Krusen (who recorded Ten before leaving) and current stickman Matt Cameron, were to be inducted alongside frontman Eddie Vedder, bassist Jeff Ament, and guitarists Stone Gossard and Mike McCready.

In an open letter on social media last week, Pearl Jam invited Dave Abbruzzese, Matt Chamberlin and Jack Irons to join them alongside Krusen and Cameron on April 7th.

“While awards and accolades are understandably subjective and a countless number of our peers have yet to be honored, we do feel fortunate to be recognized and provided the opportunity to reunite with everyone who has been part of the group. Specifically the drummers who all left their distinctive mark on our band in the pre-Matt Cameron years,” they write. “Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlin, Dave Abbruzzese, and Jack Irons are each individually great players who gave their all to the early recordings and live gigs.”

“Looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill,” the letter concludes.

“Looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill.”

Abbruzzese, who toured behind Ten and through 1994’s Vitalogy, has spoken bluntly on social media about not being inducted. He even requested that the band do the right thing and include him as part of their induction.

“Maybe the Hall should reevaluate the need to put all the monkeys in the same cage in order to boost revenue, and instead let the history of the band be fully and completely represented as they were and as they are,” he writes on Facebook. “Leave it up to the group to show their true colors as they celebrate their own history in a manner of their choosing.”

The 2017 Ceremony will take place on Friday, April 7th at Barclays Center in Brooklyn. Besides Pearl Jam, it will honor ELO, Joan Baez, Journey, Nile Rogers, Tupac Shakur and Yes. HBO will air the 32nd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, April 29th at 8 pm ET/PT with replay dates scheduled throughout its channels. SiriusXM is the radio broadcast partner, but has yet to announce any airdates.