Peter Gabriel’s three soundtrack albums get vinyl reissue

Over the last two years Peter Gabriel’s seven studio albums have been reissued on vinyl to much critical acclaim. Gabriels three soundtrack albums are to receive the same treatment on July 28th internationally through Real World via Caroline International.

Birdy, Passion and Long Walk Home have been Half-Speed Remastered and cut to lacquers at 45 RPM to deliver maximum dynamic range in the sound. Birdy and Long Walk Home are released across double heavyweight LPs whilst Passion is on triple heavyweight LPs with music on five sides and a special etching on the sixth side. The vinyl was cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering, mastered by Tony Cousins at Metropolis and overseen by Peter’s main sound engineer Richard Chappell.

This is the first time that Long Walk Home has been available on vinyl.

Each limited edition numbered LP will be released in gatefold sleeves that utilize original artwork with additional film stills. All images are newly re-scanned. Each vinyl will contain a download card with the choice of 24 bit hi-res or 16 bit digital copy.

“I’ve always loved film music and I’ve been lucky enough create music for three very different kinds of film, that became the albums Birdy, Passion and Long Walk Home. All the films share strong stories and memorable performances. In each case they also have musical directors in the shape of Alan Parker, Martin Scorsese and Phillip Noyce, who really care about, and feel, the music they work with. They each allowed me to create moods and atmospheres within the music that I felt could serve their narrative,” Gabriel says in a press release.

“I still love all the possibilities and different disciplines involved in working for film and I’m pleased that people will have the chance to re-visit the work on these records with these vinyl re-issues.”

Birdy marks the first occasion that Gabriel worked with producer Daniel Lanois who went onto co-produce both Gabriel’s So and US albums. The soundtrack to the Alan Parker movie of the same it finds Gabriel flexing his creative muscles free of any commercial pressures and has a number of tracks built out of elements of existing tracks from Gabriel’s third and fourth solo albums.

Passion – Music for The Last Temptation of Christ was released a year after Martin Scorsese’s controversy-laden film and tends to be regarded as a work in its own right rather than just being a movie soundtrack. It features additional music that was not included in the film. This extra material was the result of Gabriel continuing to record and to resolve “unfinished ideas.” Passion Sources, the companion album to Passion, is also being reissued on July 28th as part of the vinyl reissue series via Real World.

Long Walk Home is an album based on the music from the film Rabbit Proof Fence. Written and produced by Gabriel, the album is the end result of two years work with the film’s director Phillip Noyce and brings together a multitude of different musical origins, cultures, instruments and vocalists.

Gabriel is currently in the studio working on music.



A1 At Night
A2 Floating Dogs
A3 Quiet and Alone
B1 Close Up (from Family Snapshot)
B2 Slow Water
B3 Dressing the Wound
C1 Birdy’s Flight (from Not One Of Us)
C2 Slow Marimbas
C3 The Heat (from The Rhythm of the Heat)
D1 Sketchpad with Trumpet and Voice
D2 Under Lock and Key (from Wallflower)
D3 Powerhouse at the Foot of the Mountain (from San Jacinto)[/one_third]



A1 The Feeling Begins
A2 Gethsemane
A3 Of These, Hope
A4 Lazarus Raised
A5 Of These, Hope – Reprise
B1 In Doubt
B2 A Different Drum
B3 Zaar
B4 Troubled
C1 Open
C2 Before Night Falls
C3 With This Love
C4 Sandstorm
C5 Stigmata
D1 Passion
D2 With This Love – Choir
D3 Wall of Breath
E1 The Promise of Shadows
E2 Disturbed
E3 It is Accomplished
E4 Bread and Wine
F Etching (no music)[/one_third]


Long Walk Home

A1 Jigalong
A2 Stealing the Children
A3 Unlocking the Door
A4 The Tracker
A5 Running to the Rain
B1 On the Map
B2 A Sense of Home
B3 Go Away Mr Evans
B4 Moodoo’s Secret
B5 Gracie’s Recapture
C1 Crossing the Salt Pan
C2 The Return (Parts 1, 2 and 3)
D1 Ngankarrparni (Sky Blue – Reprise)
D2 The Rabbit-Proof Fence
D3 Cloudless[/one_third_last]

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11289