Pink Floyd announces restored ‘Delicate Sound of Thunder’ reissue

Multi-format release is available Nov 20th

Pink Floyd will release a restored, re-edited and remixed version of Delicate Sound of Thunder across multiple formats on Friday, November 20th. Originally available solely on VHS and Laserdisc, the Grammy Award-nominated program has been completely restored and re-edited under the direction of Aubrey Powell of Hipgnosis, with the sound remixed by Andy Jackson with David Gilmour. It will be available on Blu-ray and DVD, with audio-only versions on 2 CD or 3 LP, plus a deluxe four disc set including Blu-ray, DVD and 2 CDs, each of which contain five bonus tracks.

Delicate Sound of Thunder was filmed a year into the triumphant record-breaking Momentary Lapse of Reason Tour at the Nassau Coliseum in Long Island, New York. Although the actual final live date was in June 1990, this concert presentation celebrated the last shows of 1988 – filmed and recorded over a five night run in August. Originally directed by Wayne Isham, the new version was sourced directly from hundreds of cans of original 35mm negatives, painstakingly restored and transferred to 4K, with the show completely re-edited by Benny Trickett, under the creative direction of Aubrey Powell/Hipgnosis. Similarly, the sound was completely remixed from the original multitrack tapes by longtime Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson with David Gilmour, assisted by Damon Iddins.

Seen and heard playing alongside David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright are Jon Carin on keys and vocals), Tim Renwick on guitars and vocals, Guy Pratt on bass and vocals, Gary Wallis on percussion, Scott Page on sax and guitar, and Margret Taylor, Rachel Fury and Durga McBroom on backing vocals.

Film producers were Curt Marvis and Carl Wyant and Director of Photography was Marc Reshovsky, with Lighting Design by Marc Brickman.

Content varies from format to format: Blu-ray and DVD include 16 songs in 115 minutes, with the 3 LP and 2 CD containing 23 songs each, nine more than the original vinyl release and eight more than the original 2 CD. All formats include a 24-page booklet, while the deluxe box has a 40-page booklet, a double-sided poster and five postcards.

The set list carefully balances then-new material from A Momentary Lapse of Reason and Pink Floyd classics, including four songs from The Dark Side of the Moon, the anthemic title track of Wish You Were Here, Comfortably Numb and a cathartic Run Like Hell. As a record of the creative power of David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright, Delicate Sound of Thunder presents them at their incendiary best.

Deluxe Box | Blu-ray | DVD | 2 CD | 3 LP

CD 1: Part 1

  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
  2. Signs Of Life
  3. Learning To Fly
  4. Yet Another Movie
  5. Round And Around
  6. A New Machine Part 1
  7. Terminal Frost
  8. A New Machine Part 2
  9. Sorrow
  10. The Dogs of War
  11. On The Turning Away

CD 2: Part 2

  1. One Of These Days
  2. Time
  3. On The Run
  4. The Great Gig In The Sky
  5. Wish You Were Here
  6. Welcome To The Machine
  7. Us And Them
  8. Money
  9. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2
  10. Comfortably Numb
  11. One Slip
  12. Run Like Hell

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.