Pixies announce ‘Beneath The Eyrie’ studio album

Album will be group’s first release for Infectious/BMG Worldwid

Visceral, musically cinematic, otherworldly but strangely familiar and a bit unsettling, welcome to Pixies’ brand-new studio album, Beneath the Eyrie, where tales of witches, Daniel Boone, misfits and other characters fit utterly into the band’s inherent weirdness. Boasting 12 new songs, the album will be released globally on Friday, September 13th via the group’s new record label, Infectious/BMG, and available in a wide variety of packages.

Pixies – Black Francis/vocals, guitars; Joey Santiago/guitars; David Lovering/drums, and Paz Lenchantin/bass – offer you this early taste, the album’s debut track release. Co-written by Francis and Lenchantin, “On Graveyard Hill” is an in-your-face, classic Pixies tale of imminent, ominous doom.

Beneath the Eyrie, produced by GRAMMY-nominated Tom Dalgety (Ghost, Royal Blood, Pixies’ Head Carrier), was written over the course of 2018 and recorded last December at Dreamland Recordings near Woodstock, NY. While taking a break outside the studio – originally St. John’s Church built in 1896 – Lovering spotted an eagles nest – or “eyrie” – right above the studio in a tree. Hence the album’s title, Beneath the Eyrie.

For the recording of the album, Pixies opted to shine a bright – and rare – light on the process, to document every moment of what took place in the studio for a 12-episode podcast titled It’s a Pixies Podcast. The podcast welcomes fans to witness the evolution of the album’s tracks, from their earliest stages to completion, in the studio’s control room, the main room, and in a special “audio booth” where the band members offered their thoughts and observations throughout recording. Produced by Pixies and hosted and narrated by New York Times best-selling author Tony Fletcher, It’s a Pixies Podcast debuts June 27th and will be available globally on Apple, Spotify, Acast, Stitcher, Google, and other podcast platforms.

Pixies will support Beneath the Eyrie with an extensive 2019-2020 world tour that kicks off Saturday, August 31st at the Daydream Festival in Pasadena, CA. This will mark the first time the band has shared a stage with the festival’s curators The Cure in 30 years, the first time being in 1989 at L.A.’s Dodger Stadium. Pixies will then head to the UK for its first European tour in two years that begins September 13th. Further worldwide dates to be announced shortly.

  1. In the Arms of Mrs. Mark of Cain
  2. On Graveyard Hill [Explicit]
  3. Catfish Kate
  4. This Is My Fate
  5. Ready for Love
  6. Silver Bullet
  7. Long Rider
  8. Los Surfers Muertos
  9. St. Nazaire [Explicit]
  10. Bird of Prey
  11. Daniel Boone
  12. Death Horizon

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.