Pixies announce first album in 23 years ‘Indie Cindy’

The Pixies have announced that they’ll release their new album, Indie Cindy, on April 29th in the United States, April 23rd in Japan and April 28th in Europe and internationally.

The album is comprised of “Bagboy,” the band’s first new song in more than a decade, the eight tracks from the band’s EP-1 and EP-2, released September 3, 2013 and January 3, 2014 respectively, plus the three new tunes from the just-released EP-3. With EP-1, EP-2 and now EP-3 having been available only in digital and limited-edition vinyl formats, Indie Cindy will mark the first time fans can have all of the new Pixies music in one collection on a variety of formats including a double 180-gram vinyl and a deluxe hardback double CD book only available at pixiesmusic.com.

The album was produced by Gil Norton, producer of the band’s classic Doolittle, Bossanova, and Trompe le Monde albums, and recorded during October 2012 at Rockfield Studios in Wales, UK.

The various packages feature a collection of brand new artwork by the legendary graphic artist Vaughan Oliver who created the artwork for all of Pixies’ previous releases.

The special deluxe, limited edition two-disc set (available as a CD and as a deluxe gatefold album pressed on 180-gram vinyl) includes a 13 track live disc entitled Live In The USA that features touring bassist Paz Lenchantin. This deluxe package also includes a 40 page, hard-back book that features the new artwork produced exclusively for the album. The limited edition CD is packaged in a special gold-foil hard slipcase and is limited to 3,000 copies worldwide.

The set will also be available as a two-disc, deluxe gatefold album, pressed on 180-gram vinyl, a standard 12 track single CD digipak with booklet, a standard 12 track digital download via iTunes, Amazon, and other online retail sellers and as an expanded digital download exclusively through iTunes that includes a bonus live in concert 13 track set recorded during the band’s recently-completed North American tour.

Those who purchase EP-3 and/or the album include an instant digital download of EP-3 with lossless audio. The limited edition 10″ exclusive EP-3 vinyl will ship on April 28th and is limited to 3,000 copies worldwide.

Fans who can’t wait to purchase the album on its release date will get a chance a week earlier on Record Store Day, April 19th, when Indie Cindy is released as a special RSD limited edition, two-disc, deluxe gatefold, 180-gram vinyl set, only from independent record stores participating in RSD around the world.

The Pixies last full-length album was Trompe le Monde in 1991.


1. What Goes Boom
2. Greens and Blues
3. Indie Cindy
4. Bagboy
5. Magdalena 318
6. Silver Snail
7. Blue Eyed Hexe
8. Ring the Bell
9. Another Toe in the Ocean
10. Andro Queen
11. Snakes
12. Jaime Bravo

Live In The USA

1. Bone Machine
2. Hey
3. Ana
4. Magdalena 318
5. Snakes
6. Indie Cindy
7. I’ve Been Tired
8. Head On
9. The Sad Punk
10. Distance Equals Rate Times Time
11. Something Against You
12. Isla de Encanta
13. Planet of Sound

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.