Pixies ‘Doolittle’ gets Blu-ray Pure Audio release

The Pixies’ second album Doolittle is getting an upgrade. 4AD Records is releasing the 1989 album on Blu-ray Pure Audio on December 9th. The disc will contain the album in both high definition (96 kHz/24 bit) 5.1 surround sound and as an HD transfer of the original stereo mix by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab.

The album has been remixed by audio specialist Kevin Vanbergen (FX) from the original analogue multi-tracks. The results are a revelation, separating out elements from the recordings that are buried in the stereo mix and adding space, depth and a clarity to the performances without diluting their energy and impact.

Doolittle was the first Pixies record to be made commercially available in their native US, but was their second album. An instant hit with both critics and fans, its slow burn success has since helped it to sell close to a million copies in their homeland alone. Among the many plaudits thrown its way, Pitchfork ranked it at Number 4 in their Best Albums of the 80s poll, while NME writers in 2004 named it the second best album of all time. 2009 saw the band tour the album to celebrate its 20th birthday. In 2014, a Deluxe 25th Anniversary Edition on triple CD and LP was released.

Blu-ray Pure Audio

1. Debaser 2:52
2. Tame 1:55
3. Wave of Mutilation 2:04
4. I Bleed 2:34
5. Here Comes Your Man 3:21
6. Dead 2:21
7. Monkey Gone to Heaven 2:56
8. Mr. Grieves 2:05
9. Crackity Jones 1:24
10. La La Love You 2:43
11. No. 13 Baby 3:51
12. There Goes My Gun 1:49
13. Hey 3:31
14. Silver (Francis/Deal) 2:25
15. Gouge Away 2:45

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.