R.E.M. announces ‘Out of Time 25th Anniversary Edition’

A quarter of a century after Out Of Time helped break alternative music into the American mainstream and turned R.E.M. into a worldwide phenomenon, the band have announced a special 25th Anniversary Edition, out November 18th via Concord Bicycle.

Out Of Time will be released in three different formats. The 2 CD set will include a remastered version of the original album alongside demo versions of every album track, as well as demos for two non-album b-sides and a previously unreleased song. The 3 LP set will include remastered vinyl versions of the original album and the demos. The 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Out Of Time will include four discs, featuring the remastered album, demos, recordings from the band’s performance at Mountain Stage in 1991 (a rarity for the time, as the band did not tour to promote Out Of Time), and a Blu-ray Disc with hi-resolution audio and 5.1 Surround Sound versions of Out Of Time, all of the music videos from the album, and the 1991 electronic press kit ‘Time Piece,’ featuring in-studio footage, exclusive performances and more. All versions will feature extensive liner notes by Annie Zaleski featuring interviews from all four band members and producers Scott Litt and John Keane. Full details below.

The demos, recorded at John Keane Studio in early 1990 and featured on all versions of the Out Of Time reissue, provide key insight into the band’s creative process: from early instrumental passes to versions of “Losing My Religion” and “Texarkana” with different lyrics, and even a version of “Radio Song” that features a rare moment with drummer Bill Berry on lead vocals for a verse. While recording them, it was clear to Keane that R.E.M. were “at their peak in terms of creativity.”

By 1991, R.E.M. (Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Michael Stipe) had amassed a sizable following in the United States, but Out Of Time brought the Athens, GA band unprecedented global recognition. It was the group’s first album to top both US and UK charts, selling 12 million copies worldwide, and garnered seven Grammy nominations, including wins for Best Alternative Music Album, Best Short Form Music Video (“Losing My Religion”), and Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal (“Losing My Religion”).

Instant classic songs like “Losing My Religion,” “Shiny Happy People,” “Near Wild Heaven,” and “Radio Song” broke new ground, artistically and commercially. Reviewing Out Of Time, Rolling Stone simply said, “This may well be America’s best rock & roll band.” Earlier this year, Pitchfork called the album “arguably their most important record,” while Time Magazine named ‘Out Of Time’ one of it’s All-Time 100 Albums, saying it contains “ethereal beauty rarely heard on a rock record.”

3 CD/Blu-ray | 2 CD | 3 LP

Disc 1 – Out of Time

1. Radio Song
2. Losing My Religion
3. Low
4. Near Wild Heaven
5. Endgame
6. Shiny Happy People
7. Belong
8. Half A World Away
9. Texarkana
10. Country Feedback
11. Me In Honey

Disc 2 – Out of Time Demos

1. Losing My Religion 1 (demo)
2. Near Wild Heaven 1 (demo)
3. Shiny Happy People 1 (demo)
4. Texarkana 1 (demo)
5. Untitled Demo 2
6. Radio – Acoustic (Radio Song 1 demo)
7. Near Wild Heaven 2 (demo)
8. Shiny Happy People 2 (demo)
9. Slow Sad Rocker (Endgame demo)
10. Radio – Band (Radio Song 3 demo)
11. Losing My Religion 2 (demo)
12. Belong (demo)
13. Blackbirds (Half A World Away demo)
14. Texarkana (demo)
15. Country Feedback (demo)
16. Me On Keyboard (Me In Honey demo)
17. Low (demo)
18. 40 Sec. (40 Second Song demo)
19. Fretless 1 (demo)

Disc 3 – Live At Mountain Stage

1. Introduction
2. World Leader Pretend
3. Radio Song
4. Fall On Me
5. It’s the End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
6. Half A World Away
7. Belong
8. Love Is All Around
9. Losing My Religion
10. Dallas
11. Radio Song
12. Disturbance At The Heron House
13. Low
14. Sawn Swan H
15. Pop Song 89

Disc 4 – Out Of Time (Blu-ray)

Out Of Time – Hi-Resolution Audio
Out Of Time – 5.1 Surround Sound
Radio Song (music video)
Losing My Religion (music video)
Low (music video)
Near Wild Heaven (music video)
Shiny Happy People (music video)
Belong (music video)
Half A World Away (music video)
Country Feedback (music video)
Time Piece

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.