R Kelly, Jennifer Hudson set for ‘Chi-Raq’ soundtrack from Spike Lee

On December 4th, 40 Acres And A Mule/RCA Records will release Chi-raq – The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, from Spike Lee’s newest film. Executive produced by Lee, the 13-song disc will feature newly written material performed by award-winning Chicago natives R. Kelly, Jennifer Hudson and Sam Dew, as well as Nick Cannon, Mali Music and Treasure Davis. The soundtrack also features local Chicago artists Eryn Allen Kane, Kymm Lewis, Kevon Carter and more.

The soundtrack will be available for pre-order on November 13th at Amazon.com, iTunes and Google Play with instant downloads of the album’s tracks “Pray 4 My City” by Nick Cannon, “Contradiction” by Mali Music feat. Jhené Aiko, “I Run” by Jennifer Hudson, “Desperately” by Sam Dew and “Simple” by Treasure Davis feat. Kid Ink. It will be available to stream on December 4th on Amazon Prime Music.

As with previous Spike Lee joints, music plays an integral role in this film. The movie’s powerful message is reflected in songs such as Nick Cannon’s “Pray 4 My City,” that embodies the essence of his character Chi-Raq, a rapper addressing the harsh realities of his environment, and Kevon Carter’s self-reflecting “WGDB,” which examines and seeks solutions for the violence happening in Chicago. The recently released emotional Spike Lee-directed videos for “WGDB” and “Pray 4 My City” can be viewed below.

Directed by the critically acclaimed filmmaker Spike Lee and co- written by Lee and Kevin Willmott, Chi-Raq features an all star cast including: Nick Cannon, Wesley Snipes, Jennifer Hudson, Teyonah Parris, D.B. Sweeney, Harry Lennix, Steve Harris, Angela Bassett with John Cusack and Samuel L. Jackson.

“I’m honored and excited to share with you the great music from Chi-Raq,” says Spike Lee. “Thank you for listening to the established and brand new artists. Real music folks. Peace and love. Ya-dig? Sho-nuff.”

Chi-Raq is a modern day adaptation of the ancient Greek play Lysistrata by Aristophanes. After the murder of a child by a stray bullet, a group of women led by Lysistrata (Parris) organize against the on-going violence in Chicago’s Southside creating a movement that challenges the nature of race, sex and violence in America and around the world.

Chi-Raq arrives exclusively in theaters nationwide on December 4th.


Track Listing:

01        Pray 4 My City            Nick Cannon                          

02        Put The Guns Down   R. Kelly feat. Tink                                          

03        Contradiction               Mali Music feat. Jhené Aiko                          

04        Born In Chicago         The Bruce Hornsby Band feat. Eryn Allen Kane & Sasha Go Hard             

05        Sit Down For This       Mali Music                                          

06        Desperately                Sam Dew                               

07        Simple                        Treasure Davis feat. Kid Ink                                      

08        I Want To Live            Kymm Lewis  

09        My City                       Nick Cannon              

10        WGDB                        Kevon Carter                                                             

11        I See The Light           Sophia Byrd

12        All Power                    Cinque Cullar             

13        I Run                           Jennifer Hudson 

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.