Rascal Flatts unveil farewell EP

Trio’s farewell journey was canceled due to COVID-19

Rascal Flatts have announced their new EP How They Remember You will be released July 31st via Big Machine Label Group. The seven track EP includes six unreleased tracks along with their rendition of Kenny Rogers’ “Through the Years.”

The guys took to the Opry stage in Nashville, TN to perform their brand new single and title track “How They Remember You” Monday morning (June 22nd) as part of TODAY’s Citi Music Series. The song, co-written by Marc Beeson, Josh Osborne and Allen Shamblin and produced by Dann Huff, evokes reflection on the lasting legacy each person has the opportunity to leave. The song debuts at No. 24 on the Billboard Country Airplay and No. 31 on Mediabase/Country Aircheck charts.

“We are so excited about our new EP and single, ‘How They Remember You,’” shares Gary LeVox. “It’s a song about what kind of impact and legacy you want to leave in life. It’s a fantastic song to celebrate 20 years of making music together. It’s an incredible message with a melody to match and we hope the fans love it, and that whatever legacy we all leave behind, it’s beautifully impactful.”

With the trio co-producing tracks throughout the collection, Rascal Flatts’ beloved harmonies and innate ability to share universal messages is palpable on each song. Known for cherry-picking songs that define so much for so many, the EP also boasts a notable calibre of songwriters with tracks co-written by Thomas Rhett, Rhett Akins, Josh Osborne, Jesse Frasure, Ashley Gorley and more.

All told, the band has posted 17 No. 1 songs and sold more than 23 million albums since their founding in 2000, leaving an impact which outshines even their wildest ambitions. Their signature sound was like no other, with LeVox’s voice one of the most recognizable and dynamic of its era, while the rock-solid musicianship of DeMarcus and Rooney infused country tradition with a fresh new, arena-ready energy – helping pave the way for a wave of crossover appreciation still building today, as well as opening doors for so many other artists who followed.

“We opened the door for a lot of new artists doing the kind of music that you even hear today, twenty years later, ’cause there was no sound like the sound that we had when we came in in 2000,” the band shares during the broadcast.

The trio was set to embark on their final Rascal Flatts Farewell: Life is a Highway Tour, but was canceled due to COVID-19. The most awarded group of the past decade was set to kick off the trek in June to celebrate its 20th year together. Guests Chris Lane, Chase Rice, Avenue Beat, Caylee Hammack, King Calaway, Matt Stell and Rachel Wammack were set to join for the run that was to last through October.

1. How They Remember You
2. Feel It In The Morning
3. Quick, Fast, In A Hurry (featuring Rachel Wammack)
4. Looking Back
5. Warmer
6. Sip Away
7. Through The Years

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11279