Reba named CMT Artist of a Lifetime

Ceremony will honor the best in the genre during 2019

Reba McEntire has been named CMT’s Artist of a Lifetime. The country superstar will be honored during the Tenth Annual CMT Artists of the Year celebration on Wednesday, October 16th at 8 pm ET/PT on CMT live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center.

“And our CMT Artist of a Lifetime is… Reba McEntire ✨ We’re honored to celebrate this incredible icon! Don’t miss this special night for CMT Artists of the Year on October 16th at 8/7c on CMT!” the network shares on social media.

“I have loved entertaining people since I was a little girl and after being in the music business for more than 40 years,” McEntire says in a statement. “I’m still having so much fun! For CMT to recognize me as the Artist of a Lifetime is pretty special.”

Reba will join the illustrious ranks alongside previous “Lifetime” recipients, including Loretta Lynn (2018), Shania Twain (2016), Kenny Rogers (2015), and Merle Haggard (2014).

The highly anticipated 90-minute event will pay tribute to the five “Artists of the Year” who collectively ruled the last 12 months in country music. Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett will also be honored at the ceremony.

“These five, stand-out honorees have dominated country music this year, and we look forward to paying tribute to each of them at the tenth year anniversary CMT Artists of the Year event,” states Leslie Fram, CMT’s senior vice president of music strategy and talent. “This incredible collection of talent coming together at what marks a pivotal time in each of their careers promises to be a night of incredible performances and reflection.”

As in past years, the ceremony will be packed with tribute performances to each of the honorees, and will feature surprise performance collaborations and guest appearances. For the first time in the event’s ten year history, CMT’s cameras will be out on tour with Underwood, capturing her performance from the Cry Pretty 360 Tour in Cleveland.

Underwood is a five-time honoree, Rhett is a two-timer while Dan + Shay, Combs and Brown are all first time honorees celebrating the best in country music from the past 12 months.

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11343