Rhino releasing new Everly Brothers compilation

Set is due June 17th

Rhino has announced a new Everly Brothers compilation for release on June 17th on CD and LP. Hey Doll Baby is a newly remastered 17-track set that collects some of the lesser-known, buried treasures in the Everly Brothers’ rich catalog with songs assembled by Adria Petty, Tom Petty’s daughter, who worked closely with both Everly families on the project, with help from Phil’s widow Patti and son Jason, who provided track-by-track commentary for the liner notes, as well as Don Everly, prior to his passing last summer, and his widow Adela. The set holds the bittersweet distinction of being the final project Don worked on.

Hey Doll Baby explores The Everly Brothers’ legacy by not revisiting their greatest hits.

“This compilation was curated with an eye towards celebrating the deeper rockabilly tracks and some great covers, with a small emphasis on hits,” Petty explains. “Whether you are new to The Everly Brothers or are among the diehard fans, this is sequenced for a great listening experience. Put this record on and get transported to another time and place. It will leave you feeling better.”

Hey Doll Baby delivers on that promise with the swinging rockabilly of “Baby What You Want Me To Do” and the pure pop bliss of “Made To Love,” along with choice covers of Johnny Cash’s “I Walk The Line” and Chuck Berry’s “Maybellene.” The collection features four of the Everly’s original Cadence recordings including the title track and the Top 10 hits “(’Til) I Kissed You” (No. 4), “When Will I Be Loved” (No. 7), and “Devoted To You” (No. 10). The set also includes the No. 1 smash, “Cathy’s Clown,” which was the Everly Brothers’ first Warner Bros. single in 1960, and the best-selling song of their career.

In the album’s liner notes, Jason Everly provides insight into each song on the album, beginning the title track, “Hey Doll Baby,” which was the last song on The Everly Brothers’ 1957 self-titled debut. He writes, “Its classic Appalachian harmony mixed with rhythm & blues would become part of the brothers’ signature sound, and with each strum of their infectious guitars, it’s like they’re pushing the song into becoming actual rock ’n’ roll.”

Hey Doll Baby made its debut during Record Store Day 2022 on April 23rd as a limited edition on baby blue vinyl.


  1. Hey Doll Baby
  2. When Will I Be Loved
  3. Muskrat
  4. Gone, Gone, Gone
  5. Walk Right Back
  6. (’Til) I Kissed You
  7. That’s Just Too Much
  8. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  9. Cathy’s Clown
  10. Devoted To You
  11. Maybellene
  12. So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad)
  13. Made To Love
  14. Sigh, Cry, Almost Die
  15. I Walk The Line
  16. Love Hurts
  17. So Fine

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com