RIAA certifies Bob Seger’s “Greatest Hits” Diamond; reissue announced

Capitol Records/UMe is pleased to announce Bob Seger’s Greatest Hits has been certified diamond by the RIAA for achieving ten million units in the U.S. To celebrate this achievement, Capitol/UMe is reissuing Greatest Hits and Seger’s 1969 debut studio album, Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man, on vinyl June 2nd.

Greatest Hits will be offered as a 2 LP in 150-gram and 180-gram black vinyl. And for a limited time, Greatest Hits will be available in a special 150-gram 2 LP purple color vinyl exclusively on BobSeger.com.

Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man will be issued in 150-gram black vinyl on June 2nd and for the first time in blue colored vinyl on June 9nd.

Originally released in 1994, Bob Seger’s Greatest Hits 14 track album includes such hits as “Night Moves,” “Turn the Page,” “Hollywood Nights,” “Old Time Rock And Roll,” “Against The Wind,” “Mainstreet,” “We’ve Got Tonight”, “Like a Rock” and a cover of Chuck Berry’s “C’est la Vie.” The release has remained a perennial best seller and was named Billboard and Nielsen SoundScan’s #1 Catalog Album of the Decade 2000 – 2010.

Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man title track was Seger’s first hit record, reaching #17 on the Hot 100. The album’s anti-war anthem, “2+2=?”, was released in 1968 as the first single from Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man. It was first released independently by Seger and became a regional hit in Detroit, Buffalo and Orlando and was picked up by Capitol Records marking his first major label release.

Both albums have been remastered by Robert Vosgien, Capitol Studios Mastering. Seger is Capitol Records longest-tenured solo artist in the label’s storied history.

Greatest Hits – 2 LP | 2 LP Purple

LP 1:

1. Roll Me Away (Side A)
2. Night Moves (Side A)
3. Turn The Page (Side A)
4. Against The Wind (Side B)
5. Mainstreet (Side B)
6. The Fire Inside (Side B)

LP 2: 

1. Hollywood Nights (Side A)
2. Still The Same (Side A)
3. Old Time Rock & Roll (Side A)
4. We’ve Got Tonight (Side A)
5. You’ll Accomp’ny Me (Side B)
6. Like A Rock (Side B)
7. C’est La Vie (Side B)
8. In Your Time (Side B)

Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man2 LP2 LP Blue

1. Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man
2. Tales of Lucy Blue
3. Ivory
4. Gone
5. Down Home
6. Train Man
7. White Wall
8. Black Eyed Girl
9. 2 + 2 = ?
10. Doctor Fine
11. The Last Song (Love Needs To Be Loved)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.