Richie Sambora, Orianthi announce debut LP

Richie Sambora and girlfriend/guitar virtuoso Orianthi, known as RSO, have announced the release date for their debut LP. Radio Free America will be available on CD and digital formats on May 11th via BMG.

The album was produced by legendary Metallica, Bon Jovi and Motley Crue producer Bob Rock. It was recorded in the couple’s home studio in Calabasas, CA. Radio Free America features Alice Cooper, Doors guitarist Robby Krieger and Paul McCartney drummer Abe Laboriel, Jr.

“I think these songs are about just being human. People have more in common with each other than they think,” Sambora says in a statement. “Ori and I have had the chance to see that up close, in front of millions of people around the world, for many years. It’s ingrained in us as songwriters, that desire to transcend language and genre, to play for people, entertain them, and write songs that can be the soundtrack to their lives.”

The album encompass elements of rock, blues, pop, R&B and country. Sambora and Orianthi’s voices and guitars effortlessly blend together, and their indelible melodies and uplifting lyrics create an album filled with warmth, heart and a whole lot of rock ‘n’ roll. RSO, which has garnered praise from the likes of Variety, Billboard, Forbes, People, Guitar World and more, displays the combustible chemistry that Sambora and Orianthi have both onstage and off.

Radio Free America will come on the heels of Sambora’s induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame as a founding member of Bon Jovi on April 14th in Cleveland.

Sambora has also announced a collaboration with Ovation Guitars to launch a new Richie Sambora Signature Series Elite Double Neck guitar. Royalties from the sales of this signature guitar will be donated to the non-profit organization Notes for Notes, which builds, equips, and staffs after-school recording studios in Boys & Girls Clubs after school facilities across the United States for youth to explore, create and record music for free.

In addition, Ovation Guitars, in conjunction with the DW Music Foundation (DWMF) will debut the RS Rockstar guitar. This six-string, “RS” model guitar will be donated to each Notes for Notes location along with a DW drumset and an LP cajon to equip each studio with professional level musical instruments. The DWMF will also work with other partnering charities to donate RS Rockstar model guitars to music education programs in underserved communities worldwide.


1. Making History
2. We Are Magic
3. Rise
4. Take Me
5. Masterpiece
6. Walk With Me
7. I Don’t Want to Have to Need You Now
8. Truth
9. Together On The Outside
10. Good Times
11. Forever All The Way
12. I Got You Babe
13. One Night of Peace (Modern Mix)
14. Blues Won’t Leave Me Alone
15. Hellbound Train

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.