Roll the dice… ‘The Gambler’ gets vinyl reissue

Capitol Records will take their chances by releasing Kenny Rogers’ most famous album, The Gambler, on 180-gram vinyl March 12th. The album was mastered for vinyl by Ron McMaster at Capitol Mastering. The packaging will feature true-to-original LP sleeves with restored artwork.

Released in 1979, Kenny Rogers’ The Gambler was a pop crossover success, topping Billboard’s Country Albums chart at #1 and reaching #12 on the Billboard 200. The album’s smash hit ballad, “She Believes In Me,” topped Billboard’s Country and Adult Contemporary Singles charts and peaked at #5 on the Hot 100. The album’s title track won two GRAMMY Awards: Best Country Vocal Performance, Male and Best Country Song. The album is five-times Platinum-certified by the RIAA with U.S. sales totaling more than five million copies.

180-g LP

Side 1:

  1. The Gambler
  2. I Wish I Could Hurt That Way Again
  3. King of Oak Street
  4. Making Music For Money
  5. The Hoodooin Of Miss Fannie

Side 2:

  1. She Believes In Me
  2. Tennessee Stud
  3. Sleep Tight, Goodnight Man
  4. A Little More Like Me (The Crucifixion)
  5. San Francisco Mabel Joy
  6. Morgana Jones

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *