Rory Gallagher releasing ‘Best Of’ collection

Set comes in multiple configurations on Oct 9th

Following the commercial and critically acclaimed success of the recent albums Blues (2019) and the three-week running No. 1 album on the Billboard Blues Chart Check Shirt Wizard – Live in ’77 (2020), UMe is pleased to present a new Rory Gallagher collection entitled The Best Of Rory Gallagher on Friday, October 9th.

The comprehensive compilation includes Gallagher’s most iconic songs compiled from across his recording career, including tracks from his seminal first band Taste (1969) through to his final studio album Fresh Evidence (1990).

The Best Of Rory Gallagher will be released as a 2 CD set featuring 30 tracks, including a previously unreleased collaboration with Jerry Lee Lewis. The album will also be released on 2 LP black vinyl, limited edition 2 LP clear vinyl, a 15 track single CD, as well as digital HD and digital standard.

Unearthed from the Rory Gallagher Archives is a special bonus track “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction [Alternate Version]” by Jerry Lee Lewis featuring Rory Gallagher – a rare outtake taken from Jerry Lee Lewis’ famous 1973 London Sessions featuring Gallagher singing and playing the Rolling Stones’ classic alongside the legendary Jerry Lee Lewis. The previously unreleased rarity is featured on the 2 CD version and digital versions of the album, and as a limited edition 7″ vinyl single available only at uDiscover Music and The Sound of Vinyl. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction [Alternate Version]” is available as an instant grat track with preorders of the album, and on all streaming and download services. The 7″ inch picture sleeve features a rare archive photo of Gallagher and Lewis from Jerry Lee’s 1973 London Sessions. The B-side features “Cruise On Out” taken from Gallagher’s critically acclaimed album Photo Finish (1978).

If ever there was a “musician’s musician” then that accolade belongs to Rory Gallagher. Renowned for his blistering live performances and highly respected for his dedication to his craft, he died in 1995, aged just 47. His reputation has continued to flourish in the years since. Indeed, some of rock’s most seminal figures, from Jimi Hendrix to Eric Clapton, Joe Satriani to Joe Bonamassa, Queen’s Brian May to The Smiths’ Johnny Marr, Slash of Guns N’ Roses to the Edge of U2, have cited him as an influence. Gallagher remains a touchstone for all would-be guitar heroes in the 21st Century.

2 CD | CD | 2 LP | 2 LP Clear

CD 1:

  1. Taste
  2. Shadow Play
  3. Follow Me
  4. Tattoo’d Lady
  5. All Around Man
  6. I Fall Apart
  7. Daughter Of The Everglades
  8. Calling Card
  9. I’m Not Awake Yet
  10. Just The Smile
  11. Out Of My Mind
  12. Edged in Blue
  13. Philby
  14. It’s Happened Before, It’ll Happen Again
  15. Crest Of A Wave

CD 2:

  1. Bad Penny
  2. Walk On Hot Coals
  3. Blister On The Moon
  4. Loanshark Blues
  5. Bought & Sold
  6. A Million Miles Away
  7. Wheels Within Wheels
  8. Seven Days
  9. Ghost Blues
  10. Cruise On Out
  11. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction [Alternate Version] (with Jerry Lee Lewis) [Previously Unreleased]
  12. They Don’t Make Them Like That Anymore
  13. Moonchild
  14. Jinxed
  15. Catfish

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11266