Shania Twain, Brad Paisley among 2022 Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame nominees

Inductees will be announced in Aug

Shania Twain, Brad Paisley, Pam Tillis, Kirk Franklin and others are among the nominees for the 2022 Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame (NaSHOF). The new group will be among those honored at the 52nd Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on Sunday, October 30th at the Music City Center.

“We congratulate all of this year’s nominees in our contemporary categories and look forward to early August when we will announce those who will be inducted as members of our Class of 2022,” says NaSHOF Executive Director Mark Ford.

Twain, Paisley, Tillis and Franklin are nominated in the Contemporary Songwriter/Artist category. Larry Cordle, Jim Lauderdale, Hillary Lindsey, Frank J. Myers, Gary Nicholson, Ronnie Rogers, Tia Sillers and Tommy Sims are nominated in the Contemporary Songwriters category.

All nominees experienced their first significant songs at least 20 years ago. A total of two songwriters and one songwriter/artist will be elected from the contemporary categories by members of the Hall of Fame along with other professional songwriters and artists from a variety of genres who are prominently identified with Nashville and who have written/co-written at least one original and significant Nashville song.

In addition, two more will be named to the Class of 2022. A separate body of veteran voters will elect a Veteran Songwriter and a Veteran Songwriter/Artist, both of whom experienced their first significant songs at least 30 years ago. As part of that process, nominees in those categories are not announced.

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: